PDA

View Full Version : Should Warhammer be less about lists and more about tactics?

ArmyC
12-11-2010, 16:13
I am new to WHFB and fairly new to WH 40k (1.5 years). I played WARMACHINE and Mage Knight before embracing GW.

I find that there was a steep learning curve for me with 40k. The rules were not hard to learn. Tactics also are not hard to learn. Use of terrain to help your army beat the other one on the table, takes some experience.

The hardest part is knowing the match ups. The combat system that GW uses creates mismatches. In order to succeed, a player has to understand target priority, and close combat match ups. So, you have to know all the opposing units, and the equipment that changes things, like FNP, and multiple wounds.

I really hate it when a unit of mine gets chewed up because I picked the wrong unit for them to fight.

Maybe that is the "tactical" side of the game. You just have to know the math behind the action you want to take, and weigh it against other options.

I am too new to fantasy to make a judgement on this, but it seems to me that there should be more ability to affect the game through manuever.

Does anyone else think that more could be done to emphasize table top tactics over list creation, and match ups?

Necromancer2
12-11-2010, 16:20
It's all about matchups. Which unit to target with spells or shooting. Which unit should you charge first.

DeathlessDraich
12-11-2010, 19:55
I am too new to fantasy to make a judgement on this, but it seems to me that there should be more ability to affect the game through manuever.

Yes there is.
Unfortunately many maneouvres available in 7th ed is lost in 8th ed.
In 7th ed - about 80 A4 pages of tactical movement for combat alone used by all armies and about another 20 pages of army specific tactical manouevres.

In 8th ed - about 10 - 30 pages lost and about another 5-10 pages added.

Still early days yet to discover more tactical manoeuvres :)

russellmoo
13-11-2010, 05:27