PDA

View Full Version : Dark Eldar psykers

OllieC23
13-11-2010, 18:50
Hi guys,
Im new to Dark Eldar and love the whole Eldar aesthetic having a craftworld eldar army myself. Having read the new codex I cant figure out why DE dont use psykers in any shape or form.

Surely the pleasure seeking Eldar in M30 that became the DE would have had psykers and there must be even more ways to experience pleasure as a psyker over a standard DE.

Can anyone tell me why DE dont have psykers? (Or reference the page if this is really obvious and ive missed it)

Thanks,
ollie

spetswalshe
13-11-2010, 19:04
This (http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=263061) came up recently (naturally that was before the new codex came out).

I haven't read the new one but I imagine it's one of two things; either psychic power has died out, probably as a side-effect due to the predations of Slaanesh or the struggles of living in the webway - or, as was mentioned in the previous codex, a Dark Eldar psyker is considered an exceptionally pleasing plaything and as such is victimised immediately. No matter how mad your magic skills are, sooner or later someone is going to have you enslaved or tortured to death. And no self-respecting Archon is going to allow a Warrior into his kabal with psychic powers, for fear of having them used against himself. Much better to just sell him to the Haemonculi.

Lothlanathorian
13-11-2010, 19:09
The codex explains it. It is something along the lines of psykers are not allowed in the Dark City and, since they haven't used such abilities in so long, they've atrophied.

Hendarion
13-11-2010, 19:12
Well, even if they *would* use them, drawing energy from the warp is what I'd call at best dangerous, since Slaanesh is draining the soul constantly. Drawing warp-energy through the soul would end up probably in a very ugly possessed Dark Eldar or demon infestation. That's not something they would want to risk.

Son of Sanguinius
13-11-2010, 19:32
Hi guys,