PDA

View Full Version : how many chariots can charge formation of five models



Pawel
17-11-2010, 09:18
how many chariots can charge formation of five models (40 imperial halbadiers
5X8 ) from front i think 3 is max by my oponent think that is 4.

theunwantedbeing
17-11-2010, 09:20
You can get 4 chariots into contact with the front of a 5 wide formation of 20mm base models.
2 full contact, 2 corner contact.

theorox
17-11-2010, 09:27
Yes, 4. :)

Theo

Chris_
17-11-2010, 09:29
Halbs are 20 mm wide, so a 5 models wide rank is 100mm. The chariot base is 50 mm wide so your opponent is correct (and all the others answering before me, just giving the specifics ;) ).

Pawel
17-11-2010, 09:45
yes corner contact but they charge in same turn.
Charge are taken separatly
first charge have to touch 3 models max
second charge have to touch 2 models
third charge have to touch 1 model
no place for 4 chariot

Chris_
17-11-2010, 09:58
yes corner contact but they charge in same turn.
Charge are taken separatly
first charge have to touch 3 models max
second charge have to touch 2 models
third charge have to touch 1 model
no place for 4 chariotThis changes when there are multiple charges on a unit, see BRB pg. 23.

havoc626
17-11-2010, 10:02
yes corner contact but they charge in same turn.
Charge are taken separatly
first charge have to touch 3 models max
second charge have to touch 2 models
third charge have to touch 1 model
no place for 4 chariot

Depends on the chariot, as TK get around this 'issue' with their units of chariots. Not to mention, it is also possible to have the 4 separate chariots do this, as you just need to get into certain placement of the chariots to do this.

Not impossible, and not really even that difficult if you know what you need to do and how to do it.

Kevlar
17-11-2010, 10:22
When multiple friendly units charge an enemy unit do they contact each other on the sides or must you still leave the standard gap between units?

Is it legal to squeeze them all in tight like that being that they are separate units? If not only two could charge. I've never charged more than two units to the front of an enemy so this has never come up for me.

Wyrmnax
17-11-2010, 10:34
Actually... considering that you can charge it from behin too you could get 6 into BtB contact....

First one lines up to the exactly with the right of the infantary
Second charges from the front too, it has exactly enough place to line up perfectly with the leftmost side ( 2 50mm bases vs 5 20mm bases. 100mm on each side ). Each one of those is touching 3 models.

one on each side

2 on the back, lined just like the ones in the front.

Pawel
17-11-2010, 10:42
lets take core beastmen core chariots. charge from the front
first charge you have to touch 5 models some of them corner to corner
second charge 2 models 3 corner
third charge 2 one corner
4 charge?
where is place, did I miss something?

Chris_
17-11-2010, 10:58
lets take core beastmen core chariots. charge from the front
first charge you have to touch 5 models some of them corner to corner
second charge 2 models 3 corner
third charge 2 one corner
4 charge?
where is place, did I miss something?BRB pg. 23 "Multiple Charges on a Unit". You need to maximize on all sides, i.e. your way only 5 enemy models and 3 friendly models get in b2b. With 2 chariots in full b2b and 2 clipping the corners you have 5 enemy models and 4 friendly. The rules I quoted say this is the way to do it.

Kevlar: The 1" rule never applies when Charging. See pg. 20 somewhere in the middle.

Mid'ean
17-11-2010, 11:07
As Chris stated above. Pg 23 multiple charges against a unit.

Quote "The charge moves of the charging units must be made as far as possible to equalise the number of models fighting from each charging unit."

Meaning you have to leave/make room for everybody to join the party......

Damm...nijed.....