PDA

View Full Version : Wood Elf magical bows firing non-magical arrows



Biff Gunhed
23-11-2010, 04:40
Do attacks from Wood Elf magical bows such as the Bow of Loren count as magical if they aren't using magic arrows?

I was thinking of putting a Noble with Bow of Loren in a unit with Banner of Eternal Flame, but if the Bow of Loren attacks count as magical then he obviously won't be able to get flaming attacks too.

Grey Mage
23-11-2010, 08:24
They are magical, according to the WE book.

Ravenar
23-11-2010, 16:20
From page 3 of the Wood Elf FAQ:

Q. Do arrows fired by a magic bow count as magical attacks? (p62)
A. Yes.

Kevlar
23-11-2010, 19:59
So that means they can't use the flaming banner?

cptcosmic
23-11-2010, 21:30
there is a big difference if the attacks are magical or the weapon is.
you cannot use flaming attacks with a magic weapon but you can with magical attacks.

now the question is: is the bow a magic weapon or are the attacks magical.

havoc626
23-11-2010, 21:43
What section of magic items is the bow listed under? I think that kind of states the obvious.

Biff Gunhed
23-11-2010, 23:36
OK, thanks guys. I guess that prohibits the combination with the flaming banner then.

Grey Mage
24-11-2010, 01:56
Yeah....

Of course, the rest of the unit will get the bonus, so I dont think its that much of a handicap.

Kevlar
24-11-2010, 02:50
Plus you can give the hero a normal bow and magic arrows. An oversight since they are "magic items" not "magic weapons". So flaming hoda is technically legal even if it seems against the spirit of the rule.

Jericho
25-11-2010, 16:35
Wow, the FAQ finally reversed the stupid rule saying that magic bows don't count as magical? About bloody time :D