PDA

View Full Version : 2000 pt. O&G for Jan. tourney, new to 8th

The Beast Walks Among Us
24-11-2010, 15:57
(Also posted at Da Warpath)
Hi guys,
I'm a new O&G player putting together a list for a 2000 pt tourney in January. I am also completely new to 8th. Based on what I can reasonably expect to have finished by then, here's a list I threw together:

Characters:
Black Orc Warboss - Wyvern, Ulags Akkrit Axe, Biggeds Kickin Boots, Talisman of Protection, heavy armor, shield - 454
Black Orc Big Boss - BSB, Mork's Spirit Totem - 160
Goblin Shaman - Staff of Sneaky Stealin, level 2 - 140

Core:
33x Orc Boyz - spears, full command - 261
45x Night Goblins - full command, nets - 190
5x Wolf Riders - spear, shield, musician - 76

Special:
24x Black Orcs - full command, Nogg's Banner of Butchery - 375
Squig Herd - 4 teams - 120
2x Spear Chukka - 70
Rock Lobba - 70

Rare:
Doom Diver - 80

Total 1996
________

My main concerns with the list:
1) Spears on regular orc boyz seems to be a dumb choice, but unfortunately that's how they're modelled.
2) I hate tying up so many points in my general, especially at 2000 points. He's just such a big target, and relatively vulnerable. However if at all possible i'd like to bring him, because I have the new Azhag model painted up and I would love to use it.
3) My BSB seems very vulnerable. If I drop the Spirit Totem for some protective equipment, then I really won't have much magic defense.
4) I don't really have much mobility, especially for taking out enemy artillery or hunting characters.
5) I know big units are popular now, so thats the direction I'm going in. But I still feel like this army could get outmanouvered quite easily, as I have relatively few units.

Any comments would be much appreciated, thank you all for taking the time to read.

sssk
24-11-2010, 16:41