PDA

View Full Version : Help with Beastmen.

Cobra_Commander
25-11-2010, 21:13
Well, I'm very new to WHF. I've been slowly putting together my warherd over the past year and a half but never played a game. I started collecting in the last armybook, but didn't collect a whole lot before the new armybook. So I wasn't really all too hurt. I have to say I liked the unique feel of the last one, but I'm not unhappy with this new one. I did start reading the Beastmen Tactica, but at about page 14 I got tired.

The main thing I'm curious about is what I should really be taking. With next to no save, and playing mainly against armies like DE, O&G, and WE. I get shot at a lot, and not much of my stuff makes it to them. And then I have to worry about when they shoot as a charge reaction, which really deters me from even charging in the first place. My few units of Gors just die in droves. I've mainly been playing at the 750pt level, so I'm not fighting anything too stupid. Last game I played a 2v2 game O&G and DE vs O&G beastmen. I used:

Wargor - H.Armour, Shield, Ramhornhelm
Bray-Shaman

Gor x17 - Shield, Musician
Warhounds x10
Minotaurs x6 - Shield, Musician

Minotaurs ran into a 45 block of orcs while taking bolt thrower fire and chewed them up. Warhounds flee'd as their charge reaction against Cold One Knights and ran off the board. Gors got shot up by DE crossbows. I pull my Wargor from the unit and try to combo assault, but that went horribly.

Out of everything The Mino's preformed the best, and I'm glad, cause I really like the unit. Everything else just... died. I'm really at a loss on what to do. Most of my stuff just dies coming up the board, and then I don't have much left when I get there. I tried running Gors with ahw, but not having any kind of save just meant they died real fast and handed them the combat. I tried some ambushing but that didn't go well. Possibly because I didn't put enough into ambushing.