PDA

View Full Version : coming to WHFB from 40k, help with elves

OneMeanDuck
25-11-2010, 22:38
My background is I own a full Eldar and Tau army and have been playing 40k for 6 years or so. I plan on picking up a High Elf army. And after skimming over the fantasy rules and high elf codex and I want to make an elf army with lots of Magic and some good shooting with a few heavy hitters (Smells like eldar)

So I plan on running 2 larger size sqauds of sea guard, 3 10man squads of longbowmen.

I am thinking of like 20 sword masters
A block of pheonix guard to walk with the archmage.. While he blasts everything. Or should I stick the archmage with some sea Guard and have the noble with pheonix guard?
like 5-9 dragon princes
a few bolt throwers and a pair of eagles.
1 White line chariot (Are these even worth fielding?)

Now for HQ i am thinking of a Level 4 archmage with a noble and lvl2 mage

Now for my questions. I have read the rules for fantasy but am curious of the best way to run each squad and what wargear is best option. I plan on playing games from 1500pts to 3000pts
Shoudl I run seaguard in 3 ranks of 7?
What about sword masters? (No clue whats effective here)
Also would teclis be worth it or just stick with a regualar lvl4 archmage.
Also what magic lore would be best for my mages. I want the archmage to be a damage spellcaster so he can nuke things and the best looks to be lore of fire. But in actual game play does lore of fire actually do much?
My other 1 or 2 lvl2 mages are for support with life and maybe shadow
Thanks in advance

scruffyryan
26-11-2010, 09:46
If you're going for raw effectiveness, ive seen the best results with spearmen or archers as your core. From what ive seen at higher points values people tend to either run 2 32 bricks of spearmen, though in a horde heavy environment they tend to work better imo in bricks of 35-40 5 wide and 7 or 8 deep to deny steadfast and blow through ranks of things like skavenslaves or goblins.