PDA

View Full Version : Not sure about 8th edition...

reese3697
10-12-2010, 15:09
Hello all, I have been playing for many years and browse these forums often, though I rarely post.
So I played my first game of 8th ed earlier this week, and I'm not sure how much I like the new game. Now I am a pretty old gamer all things considered, I have been playing for 4 and 1/2 editions of the game (the 1/2 coming from "Ravening Hordes" between editions 5 and 6). So needless to say I have seen my fair share of changes to this great game. However some of the changes in 8th have left me scratching my head and seriously pondering whether or not to still play.

*as a disclaimer before I really start, I have not read the new rules cover to cover, but rather was shown new rules by another player while we played after skimming the new book for 15 mins*

For starters I must admit that I like the new army comp changes using percentages, its neat and I think will help balance out the game a bit. However, Lords still have NO PLACE in a game under 2000 points.

Magic has come a very long way, for the most part I cant complain because we arent playing cards anymore. Its also a little more balanced I suppose, though I dont really like the fact that if you roll double 6's it is also a miscast. Overall I dont think there was much wrong with the old system and feel they changed it just to change it.

WTF is with the new charging rules? The fact that my dwarfs can potentially charge 15 inches is RETARDED! The fact that my Bret knights can potentially charge only 10 inches is EVEN MORE RETARDED!

In combat, not to excited about the fact that charging doesnt mean you strike first anymore. Also I'm a little uneasy about the whole "fighting from rear ranks" deal my NG spears fighting in 3 ranks is a little ridiculous, and will be even more so in a larger game when I line them 10x4 to fight in 4 ranks as a "horde."