PDA

View Full Version : What is the best army for a beginner at 40k

rob_appo
18-12-2010, 09:17
I'm new to 40k and have a few codexes and I was wondering what would be the best army for a beginner that wasn't normal space marines

Wise Guy Sam
18-12-2010, 09:25
Best way to start is choose the army you like. I cant stress the importances of collecting a force you like the look of, the background of and are proud to field. Some armies take longer to learn then others and some are harder to paint but this should have little influence in your choice Rob_appo as getting to know your army as you collect it is kinda the point.

Tarax
18-12-2010, 09:38
What is it that you're looking for? Are you looking at an army that helps you learn the rules or are you looking for an army that you want to play for the forseeable future?

If you want to learn the rules, most armies will do. Start small, only a couple of units, maybe 1 vehicle, like Black Reach.

If you're looking for an army you want to play, there are a lot of other threads for this, probably even some stickies. And what the previous poster said, look at what army attracts you most, either for painting, background or playability.

rob_appo
18-12-2010, 09:47
I want an army that I can learn to play with but one that I will want to continue to play with I like painting so something that is fun to pain aswell would be nice

zis
18-12-2010, 10:05
Well hard for us to tell you what you will want to continue play whit and what is fun to paint. I suggest Space marines, try out Blood angels, or space wolfs, they have nice looking miniatures, you donīt have to paint millions of them so will continue to be ok painting. Compaired to 100 normal ork boys what will make you bored after 1 min.

And they are probebly the best choice for a beginner, as they are forgiving and can take a couple of hits.

Zweischneid
18-12-2010, 10:12