PDA

View Full Version : Shields and Great Weapons?



Abaddon676
30-12-2010, 21:40
Im going to fight my friends Dwarf army tomorow and he told me his Thane has a shield, gromril armor and a great weapon. So a 3+ armor save plus a great weapon, Is that right? Because I thought you could only use a hand weapon + shield or a great weapon alone. I mean wtf? He gets the great armor save and strength from the weapon?

Ramius4
30-12-2010, 21:41
Im going to fight my friends Dwarf army tomorow and he told me his Thane has a shield, gromril armor and a great weapon. So a 3+ armor save plus a great weapon? Is that right? Because I though you could only use a hand weapon + shield or a great weapon alone. I mean wtf?

He can still buy the shield, but he can't use it in close combat as the great weapon uses both hands already.

The only good the shield will do him is against ranged attacks.

Abaddon676
30-12-2010, 21:48
he just told me he asked some guy at GW and the dude at GW said that you can use a shield and great weapon in close combat but you dont get the parry save.

theunwantedbeing
30-12-2010, 21:50
He can get a 3+ save by giving his gromril armour the rune of stone.
He still has to use the great weapon, but he can get a 3+ save and still use it.

If his great weapon is somehow destroyed he'll be allowed to use that sheild.
Although I'm not sure of any way for that to happen currently.


he just told me he asked some guy at GW and the dude at GW said that you can use a shield and great weapon in close combat but you dont get the parry save.

Some guy at GW?
Bit of advice for you, anything you hear accompanied by those words should be assumed to be false.
Unless of course you have some page references to back that information up with.

Little Joe
30-12-2010, 21:58
theunwantedbeing is right and a shield would only grant a 2+ armour save against shooting.
Show him page 90 of the rulebook and let him read up on greatweapons. They need two hand to use so no free hands for shields on a normal person.

antihelten
31-12-2010, 14:27
Actually your friend would arguably be right if it wasn't for the faq.

The rule book says you merely have to carry a shield to gain the advantages of it not wield it, however the version 1.1 faq (page 6) fixed this:

Q: Does a model with a shield get the armour save bonus in combat if it can’t use it? For example it is using a weapon that requires two hands? (p43)
A: No.

T10
31-12-2010, 15:24
See p. 75: Requires two hands.

"If a weapon requires two hands it is not possible for a model to use a shield ... in close combat."

The full rule is well worth reading since it also deals with additional hand weapons and shooting...

-T10

philbrad2
01-01-2011, 11:10
Lets keep this on the OP topic please.


PhilB
:chrome:
+ =I= + WarSeer Moderation Team + =I= +
WarSeer Posting Guidelines (http://www.warseer.com/forums/faq.php?faq=rules#faq_posting_guidelines)
The WarSeer FAQ (http://www.warseer.com/forums/faq.php)
The WarSeer Moderation/Posting/Forum guidelines (http://www.warseer.com/forums/faq.php?faq=the_forums#faq_rules)

theorox
01-01-2011, 17:00
Lets keep this on the OP topic please.


PhilB
:chrome:
+ =I= + WarSeer Moderation Team + =I= +
WarSeer Posting Guidelines (http://www.warseer.com/forums/faq.php?faq=rules#faq_posting_guidelines)
The WarSeer FAQ (http://www.warseer.com/forums/faq.php)
The WarSeer Moderation/Posting/Forum guidelines (http://www.warseer.com/forums/faq.php?faq=the_forums#faq_rules)

Are we offtopic somehow?:confused:

Theo

T10
01-01-2011, 21:41
Are we offtopic somehow?:confused:

Theo

I notice that a number of posts have been removed from the thread, presumably by the moderators.