PDA

View Full Version : Army Builder and Specialist Game Conflict?



KidDiscordia
02-01-2011, 20:41
Something I have noticed recently is that almost all of my Specialist Game downloads for Army Builder have become corrupted and gives me what looks like a stat line out of parameter error. Is anyone else encountering this? Is there a simple way to repair the damage? I have heard talk about the 40k file being the problem and loading it on a separate computer fixed the problem. Only having one computer makes that impossible for me. It doesn't make since that a separate game would file would corrupt other games.

If I wanted to be paranoid I could wonder if GW in their great IP Crusade had something to do with it.

Any thoughts or solutions?

chromedog
02-01-2011, 20:56
It's been that way since the last few updates.
I no longer use it for making 40k army lists as a result (it was mainly so that I could do necro gang rosters and Inquisitor characters and even manage my BFG stuff using the same program as my 40k stuff.

I did a complete V3 reinstall and only installed the SG files and selected updates (essentially nothing from 5th ed 40k) and it is currently working fine for those other games. For list building for 40k, the old standby of a pencil, codex and notepad work fine.

Lord_Goober
02-01-2011, 21:06
I refuse to use AB 3.x because of their licensing system.

chromedog
02-01-2011, 22:15
The licence is only required if you wish to receive auto updates.
Other than that, once the 12 months expire, you can still manually update and you lose NO functionality in the prog.
Mine expired a couple of months ago. Still works fine.
Wasn't bothered by the licence fee (club tournament list verifications and the club reimbursed me for it).

There ARE keygens for it anyway.