PDA

View Full Version : is a spear a hand weapon?



hashrat
18-01-2011, 21:33
Is a spear a hand weapon or a special weapon?

I ask in regards to my Empire Spearmen with Shields.
I have been allowing them parry saves from day one and on re-reading the BRB I am starting to think we had it wrong, that a Spear isn't a hand weapon but a special weapon and we shouldn't be parrying.

Same goes for my DE Warriors with shields and spears I guess.

theunwantedbeing
18-01-2011, 21:35
He's been cheating.
Read the damned rules.
Page 91.

hamsterwheel
18-01-2011, 21:37
Spears are special weapons. Any weapon that provides a bonus is typically a special weapon. There are a few exceptions, namely those that have rules that say they count as hand weapons.

hashrat
18-01-2011, 21:42
Cheers.
Don't know how I missed that before.

galenus
18-01-2011, 21:44
Do not mistake a "Hand Weapon" for a weapon wielded with one hand. Spears are not Hand Weapons or Two-Handed weapons. As such they do not allow a parry save, but do allow you to use a shield and spear at the same time.

smithers
18-01-2011, 21:51
He's been cheating.
Read the damned rules.
Page 91.

Lol.

Read the damn post.

hashrat
18-01-2011, 21:54
:)
As we were both 'cheating' it balances out.
The rules I was referencing are on page 88 btw.

Thanks for the clarification.