PDA

View Full Version : Horde Formation vs Horde Army (Ogres vs O&G)

Malorian
02-02-2011, 20:17
Horde Formation vs Horde Army

A while ago I got into an argument about running ogres in horde. I think it is obviously better to run them in huge blocks, and others were telling me that itís stupid and you get more out of having more units.

During times like this the only way to deal with such things is to put up or shut up.

As it so happens one of my coworkers knew another gamer that lived in my apartment complex and we got together for a game. He played Orcs and Goblins (so he was automatically my friend) but still hadnít played a game of 8th yet.

Now whereas you might think that is a bad thing, it automatically popped into my head as the best thing given the situation. I was a 8th ed vet who was addicted to horde, and he was a 7th ed player who was all about lots of units.

After taking some time to explain the new rules to him we set up for a 2500 point gameÖ

My list:

Tyrant w/ tenderiser, greatskull, ironcurse icon, mawseeker, heavy armor
Slaughtermaster w/ grut's sickle, wyrdstone necklace, dispel scroll
Bruiser BSB w/ great weapon, heavy armor, rune maw
24 bulls w/ banner, bellower
20 bulls w/ FC
3 ogres

Total: 2498

His List:

Black orc warboss w/ Akk'rit Axe, the Kicking Boots, Best Boss 'At, heavy armor, shield, boar
Black orc bigboss BSB w/ spirit totem, heavy armor
Lvl 2 night goblin shaman w/ 5 magic mushrooms
Lvl 2 night goblin shaman w/ itty ring

25 savage orcs w/ extra handweapons, full command
25 orcs w/ 2 choppas, FC
25 orcs w/ 2 choppas, FC
30 night goblins w/ nets, FC, fanatic
30 night goblins w/ nets, FC, fanatic
10 arrer boyz

20 black orcs w/ FC
8 hoppers
2 chukkas
Wolf chariot

3 trolls
2 pump wagons

Total: He said a bit over 2500, but no big deal

We played just a regular pitched battle to keep things simple.