PDA

View Full Version : Skaven 2000 pts. (I'm new to 8th edition)

ZeeB
13-02-2011, 21:31
Hello guys. I've been into the hobby for about 10 years and started out with fantasy but was drawn away from it towards 40k by my friends.
Now since there is a new edition out I plan to start a new fantasy army in the near future!
I decided to go for Skaven (was the army that I started out with all those years ago).
Since I haven't played the 8th edition anything at all I would appreciate any hints and tips as well as comments and criticism on my army list.
Anyways, I've done some reading in the new armybook and on the forums and this is the army that I've come up with after that!

Lord:
Grey Seer: Power scroll, Talisman of Preservation
300 pts.

Heroes:
Plague Priest: Flail, Plague furnace
254 pts.

Chieftain: Battle standard, Storm banner
120 pts.

Warlock Engineer: Doomrocket
45 pts.

Core:
40 Clanrats: Shields, Hand weapons, Full command, Warpfire thrower
270 pts.

40 Clanrats: Shields, Hand weapons, Full command, Poisoned wind mortar
265 pts.

40 Slaves: Musician
84 pts.

Special:

35 Plague Monks: Full command
275 pts.

Rare:
Hell Pit Abomination
235 pts.

Doomwheel
150 pts.

Total: 1993 pts.

And there you have it. As I said, hints and tips are appreciated :)

Ultimate Life Form
13-02-2011, 21:37
Well this is pretty much the army I run as well, so it can't be entirely bad. :p

You pretty much included everything the Skaven army needs, but from my own woeful experience though, I can tell that it lacks a bit in shooting. Your troops will be ground down fairly quick, so something to take care of the nasty stuff would work wonders. And a Hellpit doesn't last forever, either. If I would have to give an improvement suggestion, I would name a Warp Lightning Cannon (but then again I don't run one either due to clan animosity).

thesheriff
13-02-2011, 22:41