PDA

View Full Version : The Emperor A-Z

Pages : [1] 2

Hortwerth
23-03-2006, 22:05
EDIT: Page 16 is updated with pics of the finished model.

Hi all you fellow Warseers!

Some time ago (in November or something like this) I finally got a commission for the Emperor himself.

Now the client is a well-known, nice guy, for whom I've been doing lots of marines since spring 2005. He is a bit picky though and we agreed that for this project he can rise to the peak of his picky-ness. Which he did, of course.

I'm a bit torn, because I like to present the final model to the public and bathe in awes (well, that's how I imagine it making the model), but the very nature of this commission is that I just have to show and consult every two steps I make. And go backwards and anew if needed.

Now I'm jumping on modelling again after a 3 month break to finish my degree, so I thought this will be a good project to share.

All your comments will have minimal impact on the model as it's the client who rules these things here. However, I'd like to hear your opinions and it's quite likely I'll follow any idea that sounds good.

BTW, my degree still needs finishing.

Crube
23-03-2006, 22:07
Sounds a tricky prospect..any chance of picures yet, or have you not started yet...?

Hortwerth
23-03-2006, 22:10
First we discussed the pose. The Emperor was to be standing on a rock. Great. So I drew a few sketches:

Hortwerth
23-03-2006, 22:19
After some heated debate and e-mails flying half of the world several times an hour, we had a few conceptions, based on modifying the basic sketches. Of the first sketch the last pose was chosen, with a few modifications as shown below.

You can see the options we considered before we chose something like the last one: standing on a rock (yay!) and watching the battlefield (or as I prefer to think about it, admiring the sunset)