PDA

View Full Version : Do space marine armies need toning down?

Dwarf Longbeard
28-02-2011, 03:22
Hi all, first off I'll apolagize if this turns into a bit of a rant

After listening to a friend gonig on about how great and unkillable his Deathwing terminators are now the storm shield got a 3+ save since the errata came out; I asked him what was wrong with them having the original 4+ save; he simply answered "their space marines and deserve the best"
After listening to him go on for a little while longer about how he can't wait for the new codex Dark Angels because if it's done like the Blood Angel and Space Wolf ones were the new army would be absolutly devastating with the Deathwing and Ravenwing being a lot better for a start.

This attitude got me thinking isn't it about time GW really took a step back from all the favouritism towards space marines.
I'm still pretty new to this edition of the game and building up an eldar force and have had some very good games against other armies (Imperial Guard - Tyranids - Necrons and Orks) I've found that playing against space marines is really boring as whilst pretty much every other army has some kind of drawback space marines don't really have any and they have a counter (or something better) for anything you can throw at them. (though my friend did thing it was unfair and cheesy that I was able to wipe out a full tactical squad in 1 turn of shooting from my dark reapers)

As I mention would it be such a bad thing if GW toned down the power level on marine armies for a change as the current trend seems to be getting to the point that soon they'll have a special rule that the best result you're allowed to get against marines is a draw :(

Basically I'm wondering what other peoples opinions are on this?

Col. Tartleton
28-02-2011, 03:28
Tone them all down except the Dark Angels...