PDA

View Full Version : Chaos or Dark Eldar, which is for me?

Ivellis
01-03-2011, 08:57
Well, I've tired of my current armies (Tyranids and Eldar) and to tell the truth neither of those is my favorite army in 40k, I just got good deals on them. I originally started with Dark Eldar and Chaos Marines. I've also considered going with Tau or Necrons, but they are the most likely of the four to get a new books and models soon so I'll leave them on hold.

Chaos I found great fun, though I couldn't grasp the conversion opportunities as a newb, I stopped playing them with the 4th edition codex because I found it too boring. However I've strongly considered going back, I absolutely love the chaos style and the small look at the Black Crusade RPG reignited that. I'm considering either sucking it up and sticking with a codex I find boring for the great conversion opportunities or making a counts as army for one of my favorite legions, Alpha Legion, Night Lords or Thousand Sons. TS could work great with Grey Knights and Night Lords with Blood Angels, but I can't really see a codex for Alpha Legion. No matter what the army would most likely end up using the next chaos codex. I also realized since I'd want bits from daemons for conversions I could double dip and get a small daemons force out of the deal.

As for Dark Eldar, they were my first love in 40k as I've always liked elves and dark elves, however it wasn't long before I realized the models were horrible so I set in to wait for a new codex. It's here now and I love it and the models, although I have lost every single proxy game I've done horribly. I'd really like to make a high speed army full of jets and jetbikes. Done up in bright colours, just because I find them more sinister on a mad man, after the over use of dark colours. Plus I like the idea of my Dark Eldar and Craftworld Eldar sitting side by side, contrasting, but the same.