PDA

View Full Version : Can skrimishers use the horde rule?



Pointy Headed Elven Paladin
09-03-2011, 06:57
I'm just wondering if you deploy 30 skrimishers with 10x3 frontage when they charge into close combat can they use the horde rule for 3 ranks worth of attacks against the unit they charged against?

T10
09-03-2011, 07:31
The skirmish rules does not apply any exceptions to the horde rule. This means that you can indeed gain a second rank of supporting attacks just like any other unit in a horde formation.

-T10

Pointy Headed Elven Paladin
09-03-2011, 08:24
Good to know. Thanks T10! :D

Zywus
09-03-2011, 09:00
For that matter, is there any rule at all that restrict a unit from making use of the Horde rule? I cant think of any (exept that the point costs of certain units make it somewhat of a practical problem).

Lorcryst
09-03-2011, 09:06
For that matter, is there any rule at all that restrict a unit from making use of the Horde rule? I cant think of any (exept that the point costs of certain units make it somewhat of a practical problem).

Not that I know of. Point costs seem to be the equalizer for Hordes in 8th ed.

Mr_Rose
09-03-2011, 09:11
The only one would be chariots I think, since they can't make supporting attacks (or be supported) so making a horde-wide formation (ten(!) chariots) would be completely pointless.

T10
09-03-2011, 09:32
10d6+10 impact hits? I can see the point in that.

-T10

Lorcryst
09-03-2011, 09:41
Hmmm ... problem is, the Tomb Kings are the only army that can make big units of Chariots, the new Wolf Chariot units in the new O&G army book are limited to 1-3 per unit ...

Still, a ton of impact hits is nasty, even more so against High Elves/anything with a higher initiative than your army ... huge footprint tough (10 times 50*100mm, 500*100mm), must be hard to maneuver in the 8th ed "moar terrain" tables ...

Mr_Rose
09-03-2011, 10:17
10d6+10 impact hits? I can see the point in that.

-T10
Yeah, but you have to get them all into contact to get that many. Assuming a standard base of 50mm, corner-corner touching the end two, you'd need to run into a formation of 25mm infantry 16 wide to get all those hits in.

theunwantedbeing
09-03-2011, 22:14
must be hard to maneuver in the 8th ed "moar terrain" tables ...

Most terrain doesn't stop you moving through it.
Chariots now have a 1/6 chance to take any damage by going through terrain rather than automatically taking d6 st6 hits.

There's next to no risk for running a whole unit of chariots through terrain.

Chris_
09-03-2011, 23:35
Most terrain doesn't stop you moving through it.
Chariots now have a 1/6 chance to take any damage by going through terrain rather than automatically taking d6 st6 hits.

There's next to no risk for running a whole unit of chariots through terrain.Well I wouldn't say next to no risk. Maybe you missed that a Chariot that fails its Dangerous Terrain test suffers not 1 but 1D6 wounds? I would say that is kinda risky. It has at least made me (I always play at least 1 unit of Chariots with TK) go the long way around most of the time.