PDA

View Full Version : Fear - A 40k short story

Deadmetal
09-03-2011, 18:05
I had an idea, wrote the first couple of lines in my head an decided to run with it and write it.
This is the first 40k story I have ever written. Banged it out in a couple of hours so dont expect it to be great.
Hope you like it, any all all critisim is welcome.
Here goes:

FEAR

The fear rose in him instinctively. The horrors of what they could, they would and have done terrified him to his very core. He knew they would tear through his friends and comrades without feeling, mercy or remorse, leaving nothing more than bloody streaks of flesh and bodily fluids as evidence they even existed.
The beating of his heart threatened to drown out all senses, endlessly pounding a rhythm of pure horror. He tried to calm himself, using the self taught breathing techniques, slowing his shallow, harsh breaths. His pulse slowed from a single sound to a distinguishable natural rhythm, he calmed slightly, breathing now more measured and controlled.
The sound of rubble being dislodged snapped his conscience back to the present and all the terror that it deserved.
They had found him.
He raised his rifle and looked down the sight, seeing two of Them slowly hunting through the devastated city that was once his home, he moved the rifle until the crosshair kept pace with the head of the leading creature. Anger slowly rising as he remembered his dead friends, his dead family, torn to shreds in the disarray and panic of the first wave of attacks. He refocused as best he could. Pulling the trigger instinctively, years of drills ingrained into his mind, he let loose a single shot.
The head of the lead animal exploded in a glorious shower of chitin, flesh, gore and blue plasma.