PDA

View Full Version : HE and their Spear rule

Lord Balian
16-03-2011, 21:27
So I'm starting a HE army here, with 2 starter box set to begin with. After going through the army book a bit I saw the rule that the seagaurd have about always fighting with an extra rank. I'm new to 8th Ed rules, only playing one game so far, so let me see if I understand this correctly.

HE spearmen will get to fight in 3 ranks on the charge, rather then just 2.
HE spearmen will fight in 2 ranks normally, rather then just 1.

HE spearmen will get to fight in 3 ranks normally, if they go 10 wide, because of the Horde rule? Would that work in that manner? If they go 10 wide, is it still only 3 ranks on the charge?

Also, is it worth it, to have a large enough unit of seaguard to go 10 wide, with 4 to 5 ranks deep? Or is that just too expensive for on unit?

Thanks

drear
16-03-2011, 21:34
high elves have the rule that they always fight in an extra rank, so you get 3 ranks basic from this rule spears or not.

front rank, supporting attacks , fight in an extra rank.
when you add spears you get a 4th rank of attacks if charged. and from then on in combat.

going into a horde allowed a 3rd rank of attacks, so you get 3 ranks, fight in an extra rank, + spears for 5 ranks of attacks.

hordes of seaguard are amazing, atleast imo. 5 ranks of fighting + 30 plus volley fire from shooting and 20 stand and shoot reaction shots? woop

Matt.Wood88
16-03-2011, 21:36
Well, because of the new step up rule in 8th ed everyone fights in 2 ranks, and those with spears fight in an extra rank and then also high elves with spears fight in an extra rank. Although you can never use the extra rank with spears if you charge, so high elves with spears who dont horde up fight in 4 ranks when not charging, and with horde they fight in 5 ranks again when not charging.
Hope this helps :)
Cheers
Matt

Zywus
16-03-2011, 21:42
High Elves with Spears:

Non Horde Charging - 3 Ranks
Non Horde Standing still- 4 Ranks