PDA

View Full Version : Pursuing after combat when there’s another friendly unit in the path of the flee



LawrencePhillips
18-03-2011, 13:37
I have some questions about units pursuing after combat when there’s another friendly unit in the path of the flee/pursuit. I’ve drawn an example of how I believe this situation works.

The green unit loses a combat and fails its moral test and so flees. It rolls 4” for example while the red unit rolls 10”. However the blue unit is less than 4” behind the green unit. The green unit must flee through the blue unit and be placed 1” away behind it. The blue unit now must take a panic test for a unit within 6” breaking in combat and/or for a unit fleeing through it. The blue unit only takes one panic test as you can only take one per phase. Assuming the blue unit passes the panic test:

Q1) Does the red unit charge the blue unit?

Q2) If so, can the blue unit choose to flee or stand and shoot (assuming it was far away enough or has a rule that allowed it to)?

Q3) Also, does the green unit get run down and destroyed or does it remain on the far side of the blue unit?

Let say the blue unit failed the panic test or chose to flee as a charge reaction. The blue unit rolls 2” for it’s flee. This takes it on top of the green unit. As before, the blue unit is placed the other side of the green unit, but the green unit is still within the red unit’s original pursuit range:

Q4) Is the green unit now run down and destroyed or does this count as a new charge and so can it flee again?

Q5) Assuming the green unit is destroyed, is the blue unit also destroyed as if it is still within the original pursuit roll of the red unit?

Q6) If the green unit is allowed to flee, can the blue and green units keep leapfrogging each other until they are both outside of the pursuit range of the red unit?

Masque
18-03-2011, 13:56
Here is where you have gone wrong: If the pursuing unit rolls as high or higher than the fleeing unit then the fleeing unit is not actually moved on the table, it is simply removed from the table. Then the pursuing unit moves.

Here's what would happen in your example: Blue would roll for panic before red and green roll to pursue and flee since a friendly unit within 6" broke from combat. If blue holds then red and green would roll distances and green would get wiped out then red would charge blue. If blue fails the panic test it will flee from the closest enemy unit (quite probably but not necessarily red) then green will be wiped out and finally red will pursue which may or may not end up charging blue depending on where blue fled to. If red does charge the fleeing blue unit, red will line up with blue as in a normal charge, then blue will be removed from the table.

RMacDeezy
18-03-2011, 14:00
I have some questions about units pursuing after combat when there’s another friendly unit in the path of the flee/pursuit. I’ve drawn an example of how I believe this situation works.

The green unit loses a combat and fails its moral test and so flees. It rolls 4” for example while the red unit rolls 10”. However the blue unit is less than 4” behind the green unit. The green unit must flee through the blue unit and be placed 1” away behind it. The blue unit now must take a panic test for a unit within 6” breaking in combat and/or for a unit fleeing through it. The blue unit only takes one panic test as you can only take one per phase. Assuming the blue unit passes the panic test:



Q1) Does the red unit charge the blue unit?
yes, if the pursuit roll is high enough to bring the unit into contact with the enemy, they count as charging.


Q2) If so, can the blue unit choose to flee or stand and shoot (assuming it was far away enough or has a rule that allowed it to)?
no, the unit is caught by surprise and may only hold.


Q3) Also, does the green unit get run down and destroyed or does it remain on the far side of the blue unit?
yes, the green unit is run down. note that the distance is fairly irrelevant in this case. once the pursuer makes the dice roll and it equals the fleeing roll, the broken unit is cut down as they turn to flee.


Let say the blue unit failed the panic test or chose to flee as a charge reaction. The blue unit rolls 2” for it’s flee. This takes it on top of the green unit. As before, the blue unit is placed the other side of the green unit, but the green unit is still within the red unit’s original pursuit range:
this situation would never happen as the unit was destroyed before this point. note that the overrun/charge happens before the panic test, and units in combat do not panic, so no test necessary.



Q4) Is the green unit now run down and destroyed or does this count as a new charge and so can it flee again?
see above


Q5) Assuming the green unit is destroyed, is the blue unit also destroyed as if it is still within the original pursuit roll of the red unit?
see above


Q6) If the green unit is allowed to flee, can the blue and green units keep leapfrogging each other until they are both outside of the pursuit range of the red unit?
none of these situations would arise as the original unit is run down regardless of the distance that the pursuer can move. just equaling the fleeing dice roll is enough to destroy the broken unit.

edit: ninja'd by Masque who is also correct that the panic test by the blue unit happens before the pursuit.

LawrencePhillips
18-03-2011, 18:36
Thanks guys. I played it wrong last week, and ended up randomising which of the two units were destroyed. In fact after some shocking rolling, both would have been wiped out.