PDA

View Full Version : competitive and cool? (New 40k player)

Dante blackfur
22-03-2011, 16:15
Alright So I've been playing Fantasy for close to 4 years now, but most of the fantasy players at my LGS have left or stopped playing or some such thing but there's a strong 40k base, SO I thought that maybe I would pick it up and maybe sell one or two of my WHFB armies. But I'm torn between a couple of 40k armies, I'm looking for something that's competitive. but I also have to like the army, not just go by a Win-out-of-the0box army. so I'll give you a list of the armies that appeal to me, and I would like to know your guys opinions on which is the most competitive, I'm not really concerned about difficulty of play I can figure out an army pretty fast. ok here is the list, from most liked Fluff.

Space Wolves
Chaos Demons (Also I have about 4k of models from fantasy already:))
Gray knights
Witch Hunters
Tyrinids.

Are any of these top contenders for competitiveness? thanks alot for all the help!

Radium
22-03-2011, 16:25
Space Wolves are considered to be one of the best armies out there right now, and the new Grey Knights will be up there as well.

Kaelarr
22-03-2011, 16:30
Wolves are a top teir army, Grey knights is a maybe, im yet to make my mind up. Nids and Daemons can be good, but that depends on you getting good with them. Witch hunters dont bother with as they are now redundant and will cost you a lung to get an army together.

To give you an idea, at the UK Masters this year, the breakdown was:

2 Space Wolves
2 Dark Eldar
2 Chaos
1 Daemons
1 Eldar
2 Tyranids
3 Imperial Guard
1 Blood Angels.

The Top 3 were guard, Daemons and Dark Eldar.

Bunnahabhain
22-03-2011, 16:33
Out of those, space wolves are probably the strongest choice- Grey knights also appear to be rather strong, but we're not sure yet.

Plus, Space wolves don't have a Matt ward codex. If you have fantasy daemons, you can appreciate how good this.