PDA

View Full Version : does power scroll need to reach base casting value?



perrin23860
07-04-2011, 16:38
found this in the faq's. does this apply to power scroll?

Q: Some magical items and special rules cause a miscast to occur on
casting rolls other than that of a double six. For example, you might
have to roll on the Miscast table if you roll any double. When this
occurs, is the spell still cast? (p34)
A: Yes, as long as the casting value is met.

Kalandros
07-04-2011, 17:35
Irresistible Force does not need to meet the Casting Value unless other specified.

This is the case of High Elves with Teclis and the Book of Hoeth where it specifically asks for minimum casting value AND a double to get Irresistible Force.

Since no such requirements exist anywhere for Power Scroll or normal Irresistible force, you're free to roll double 6 on two dice for a 15+ spell or double 1 with power scroll to get a 25+ spell off, etc.