PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone else prefer less detailed models?

H.LaFever
15-04-2011, 18:44
While I love some of the highly detailed figs GW makes, I am only a mediocre painter. I prefer the plain plastic marines as they have larger flatter less ‘cluttered’ painting surfaces. I like the Uber detail for command sqds, but for troops, I like plain for ease of painting. Does anyone else feel this way as well?

UberBeast
15-04-2011, 18:53
I can see where you are coming from. There is a lot more to paint and potentially look bad on the more detailed models. I'll give you points for just trying to paint the minis, especially if you're not one of the greatest painters of your generation.

I still like the detailed figures more, but I admit that it does get a little tedious trying to go through and color all the little bags, ammo pouches, aquilas, scrolls, and skulls.

Night Bearer
15-04-2011, 19:00
Painting-wise I go back and forth. Fex, between 'vanilla' SM and CSMs, there are times where the baroque CSM armour seems easier to paint because there's natural detail breaking things up, whereas the relatively plain armour of the SMs can feel intimidating because I think you kinda have to be good with shading and highlighting to make it look good and not really simple plain.

But then the next week I'll completely change opinion, and feel SMs are much easier and less fiddly without all that extra detail!

skarzog
15-04-2011, 19:03
This pretty well describes my thinking.

I prefer a simplified look to basic infantry. With so many gibbins and doo-dads, the models take longer to paint and can become muddled.

To borrow from Independent Characters, sometimes it seems like GW has Glenn Danzig designing models.

HRM
15-04-2011, 19:05
I like the details. I just don't like painting them. Even the AoBR Marines took me, like, over a month to paint. That said, I prefer "better" models as they cost so damn much.

ehlijen
15-04-2011, 19:05