PDA

View Full Version : Monks with Plague Furnace Horde Query



Jim
05-05-2011, 18:12
Apologies in advance if this has been covered before...

If I have a unit of 30 Plague Monks w/ Plague Furnace, does the Palgue Furnace count as 3 models in a rank when determining if you are 10 wide to get the benefits of being a horde? IE could you have 7 Monks and the PF (which is 3 Monks wide) and therefore be 10 wide for the purposes of horde???

This is what I mean using a diagram where x = Monks and y = Furnace...

XXXYYYXXXX
XXXYYYXXXX
XXXYYYXXXX

Or would you have to be...

XXXXXYYYXXXXX
XXXXXYYYXXXXX
XXXXXYYYXXXXX

Thanks in advance!

Jim

FestHest
05-05-2011, 18:17
7 monks + PF = Horde formation

edit: The relevant rules is on p. 98 BRB.

Surgency
06-05-2011, 03:17
The rules for the Screaming bell are pretty clear, that the bell/furnace (since the furnace uses a lot of the same rules) count as 3 models wide for purposes of unit size

Confessor_Atol
06-05-2011, 17:35
So how many ranks does the frunace count as, do two ranks of rats behind the furnace get to attack too?

FestHest
06-05-2011, 20:17
The plague furnace displaces 15 models, yes thats 3 wide 5 deep. So does the Screaming bell, unless you use the old model without a base. It is roughly 2 rat wide and 4ish deep.

Hive Fleet Snackin'
07-05-2011, 09:47
do two ranks of rats behind the furnace get to attack too?

No.

The 21 plague monks and the furnace crew / priest / wrecker will get to attack.

Haravikk
08-05-2011, 14:09
Basically you treat the Bell/Furnace as if it were the models that it displaces, so if three ranks can attack then since the Bell/Furnace is five ranks deep nothing behind it can attack (unless engaged to the rear of course). It also counts for the purposes of determining ranks, width etc.

In other words; any time you're called upon to consider the size of the unit, pretend the Bell/Furnace isn't there and that 15 extra models are in its place.