PDA

View Full Version : Why High Elf Eagles rock.

hlaine larkin
07-05-2011, 17:10
No one fears them. simple as that. my eagles are frequently my MVP and i shall tell you why...

People assume your eagles march block, so don't do anything to them alot, usually there are bigger issues.

here is the tactic that makes them worth a tonne of points. As i have a big unit of swordmasters with a bsb, these guys are the target. about 2 months ago i found myself with just them and seaguard, the sea guard were well away. MY opponent was WOC, and had a unit of chose and 21 warriors ready to hit my flank, in front of me was a unit of 10 marauders and behind that a unit of warriors with his lvl 4 sorcerer and behind that a hell cannon, the idea being i would have to charge the marauders to 'atleast get some points'

from my experience this kind of ambush is common with things like swordmasters, they force you to over run into a unit, then bundle you with everything. well. this is where eagles come in.

Cascading charges. simples as that, they are essentially a 50 point item which let you fight 2 rounds of combat. What happened in this case was my swordmasters charged his marauders and the eagle charged his warriors with sorcerer. He laughed it off, saying i was 'desperate' so as my swordmasters made nordic paté of his marauders, they then charged through to the warriors, he was of course happy, i had run into his 'trap' however, he forgot the eagle.

In the ensuing cascading charge, my swordmasters wiped out his unit and broke through to his hellcannon, out of the charge arcs and range of his 2 units set up to charge.

so remember- for 50 points, it's a helluva model- lets you fight 2 combats at once, because with a 20inch mover, odds are you will get in.

Matt.Wood88
07-05-2011, 17:28
I'll tell you why I'm scared of them, they take out my mangled squids far too easily! Grr, annoys me sometimes... But ah well, I'll just magic them!
Cheers
Matt

GreenSpeed
07-05-2011, 18:24