PDA

View Full Version : A Letter to GW

brassangel
18-05-2011, 03:03
This is a letter I sent to Games Workshop earlier today, and I feel as though it echoes the sentiments of most of the fans of their wonderful products. I left out the nerd-rage and misinformation running rampant regarding the EU, Capitalism, greed, etc., and stuck solely to the facts and the concerns they present. Without further ado...

Dear Sir or Madam:

I am an avid gamer and hobbyist living in America. I also paint miniatures (somewhat) professionally. I love your products. Warhammer and Warhammer 40,000 are the gold standard of tabletop gaming. While this warrants a pricing scheme to reflect such a great brand, I fail to understand why you have made recent changes which severely hurt your international markets. Namely Australia, New Zealand, Canada, and my home, the USA.

In recent years I have read the articles and announcements, conversed with employees, and attended events citing the coming of a new multi-component material designed to end the use of metal, as well as hybrid kits for each army. Both of these maneuvers, along with some clever cost-saving initiatives, were designed to pass savings on to the consumer thus making the hobby more accessible for everyone. Certainly these changes have come to pass, but along with the changes were two sets of price increases instead of the savings we were promised.

There's no hiding what has happened here. Games Workshop won't be able to pass this off as a measure which had to be taken in order to cover increased costs of production. Even if the price comes down in the future, it will only bring the tag back in line with what we - the consumer - currently (though sometimes begrudgingly) pay.