PDA

View Full Version : Dark Elves @ 2,500 points

Sgt.Sunshine
02-06-2011, 04:17
Hello, I've been posting in the Dark Elf tactics, but I felt it was more reasonable to start up a new topic with the progress that has been made. My goal for this list is to at least be a bit competitive and all-comers type list. I'm relatively new to 8th edition and Dark Elves in 8th edition so if you suggest something please tell me why. It's nice to say "swap x for y", but I'd appreciate it if you explained your reasoning so I could apply it to future list building.

The core itself was raised to the bare minimum to meet the requirements. Hence shields on the Dark Riders. Hopefully this list will be versatile enough to match up against the majority of lists out there.

Total Roster Cost: 2500

High Sorceress (2#, 370 pts)
- Lvl 4 lore of death; Dark Pegasus, Focus Familiar and Pendant of Khaeleth
Sorceress (1#, 180 pts)
- Lvl 2 lore of shadow; Tome of Furion and Seal of Ghrond
Hag Queen (225 pts)
- cauldron of blood
- BSB
Black Guard (345 pts)
- 20 man w/ Full Command
- Tower Master w/ Crimson Death
- Banner of Murder
Witch Elves (230 pts)
- 21 man w/ Banner of Eternal Flame
Shades (85 pts)
- 5 man w/ AHW
Dark Riders (145 pts)
- 6 man w/ shields and musician
Dark Riders (145 pts)
- 6 man w/ shields and musician
Repeater Crossbowmen (115 pts)
- 10 man w/ shields and musicians
Harpy Coven (55 pts)
Cold One Chariot (100 pts)
Cold One Chariot (100 pts)
War Hydra (175 pts)

Chain
02-06-2011, 11:21
Can't remember if i've ever tried Dark riders with shields

Sounds fun, but i wouldn't expect much of them

also don't they lose the Vanguard rule when they get shields?

tmarichards
02-06-2011, 11:37
Yup, once you take them with shields they lose their fast cav special rule.

I think the reason you're struggling to make up the core allowance is that you dlon't have any big core blocks.