PDA

View Full Version : extra dice, minimum casting value



sds661
18-06-2011, 13:33
There are a number of items/abilities which allow a caster to add an extra dice to each spell he casts; for example, a slaan discipline, night goblin magic mushrooms, hierotitan.

The question: do such dice count towards the minimum value of (natural) 3+ to cast?

In the case of the slaan, the dice seems to act indistinguishably from other power dice.

In the case if the magic mushroom, the dice is different from other power dice (e.g. it can poison you, but can't create IF)

In the case of the hierotitan, it is a d3 instead of a d6.

theunwantedbeing
18-06-2011, 14:39
Only powerdice are counted towards getting that minimum 3+ to cast roll.
Only the slanns ability adds a powerdice, the others do not.

The magic mushroom one for example adds d6 to the casting roll.
The heirotitan ability adds d3 to the casting roll.
The slann ability adds a free powerdice.

Also the FAQ's do answer these questions.

Morkash
18-06-2011, 15:04
The O&G FAQ clearly says that the Mushroom dice does not count towards the necessary 3+.

sds661
18-06-2011, 21:44
Thanks for replies.
Clear and unequivocal.

Fubar
19-06-2011, 06:56
What about using sacrificial dagger after you 1 dice a spell and it fails? Is that allowed?

AMWOOD co
19-06-2011, 08:39
What about using sacrificial dagger after you 1 dice a spell and it fails? Is that allowed?

The answer is the same as another simple question. Does the item/ability specify Power Dice? If yes, then you may use it to that end. If no, then you may not.