PDA

View Full Version : need help settling for just ONE army

TheBigStink
06-07-2011, 20:46
Hi All,

I am new to 40k but have played fantasy for a good many years. I have tried many times to get into 40k but my problem is I keep switching armies. I tried Necrons because I thought they would be easy to learn the game but their background is boring and I found myself wanting more fluffwise. I have many codexes but am having a hard time settling on just one army. What is a good army for a 40k beginner that has interesting fluff and has kept your interest?

Thanks,

Stinker

MasterGideon
06-07-2011, 20:53
Space Marine or Orks, If I could start again I would have stayed orks for the conversion and sheer amount of crazyness you can do is unlimtied. marine are good to paint and good to play as and thus good to start with.

MasterGideon

Lothlanathorian
06-07-2011, 20:57
Space Marines or Orks, yeah. Orks are awesome, obviously, and Space Marines have lots and lots and lots of fluff and are one of the most forgiving armies on the tabletop for a beginning player. And you have more options of army style with Marines.

TheBigStink
06-07-2011, 21:02
Thanks for your insight. I was thinking Ork because they are so much fun and random in Fantasy. I'm no power gamer but I want an army that keeps me coming back for more.

MasterGideon
06-07-2011, 21:07
Plus you can kit bash orks with any other army tanks to make unique and wonderful designs, just have fun with them!

MasterGideon

Lothlanathorian
06-07-2011, 21:24
Yeah, kitbashing is a big plus!

rayrod64
06-07-2011, 22:13
Space Marines are the easiest with the most options and their dead hard, if you want history or fluff...they have the most books out there...

Latro_
06-07-2011, 23:04