PDA

View Full Version : Can a Warlock Engineer with no magic level take magic armour?



Balerion
08-07-2011, 20:52
A character is not perpetually defined as a wizard simply because they have the option to become a wizard, right?

Basically just wondering if a Doomrocket + Charmed Shield combo is legal, so long as the Engineer does not pay for either of the wizard upgrades.

theunwantedbeing
08-07-2011, 21:14
You need to be allowed mundane armour to take magical armour.
Being a wizard is irrelevant.

Judment
08-07-2011, 21:22
actually a warlock engineer can take warpstone armour at the price of 7.5 clanrats

decker_cky
09-07-2011, 07:17
You need to be allowed mundane armour to take magical armour.
Being a wizard is irrelevant.

Being able to take mundane armour is irrelevant.
You need to not be a wizard to take armour (or to be a wizard with mundane armour access).

A non-wizard engineer can take magic armour.

Kalandros
09-07-2011, 12:48
You need to be allowed mundane armour to take magical armour.
Being a wizard is irrelevant.

7th edition!

Glen_Savet
09-07-2011, 15:44
Edit: misread Kalandros' ppost.

drear
09-07-2011, 16:16
wizards can take armour if its in their allowance.

i may be confusing warhammer and mordheim, but you cant cast if you wear armour?

Artinam
09-07-2011, 16:29
So if the Warlock Engineer has no wizard levels (and thus doesn't count as a wizard) he can take magical armour?

drear
09-07-2011, 16:32
you can count as a wizard and have no level.
but if the wizard aspect comes from an upgrade, then he can take armour and just not take magic

Jolly Puggles
11-07-2011, 08:38
actually a warlock engineer can take warpstone armour at the price of 7.5 clanrats

I'd also accept 15 Slaves, a Great Pox Rat, 3 Warpstone Tokens or a Rat Ogre (hey, I didn't say I'd give a fair price)...

AlphariusOmegon20
12-07-2011, 15:13
I believe the Engineer is weird exception to the normal rule, and as such, can take the Warpstone armor, even if he has wizard levels.

Lord Zarkov
12-07-2011, 15:19
Edit:

I was wrong, Warpstone Armour can always be taken by Warlock Engineers (p108)

Poncho160
12-07-2011, 15:37
Page 500 of the rule book says: A wizard cannot be given magic armour unless they have an option for normal armour.

Page 58 of the Skaven Army book says: Not alll warlock engineers can use magic, however they can be upgraded to become a level 1 or 2 wizard.

So IMO as the Warlock Engineer does not have the option for mundane armour, an upgraded Engineer cannot take magical armour however a normal, unmagical engineer can.

Lord Zarkov
12-07-2011, 15:40
^This would be correct, with the exception of Warpstone armour which can always be taken

decker_cky
12-07-2011, 15:41
Page 500 of the rule book says: Unless I have mis-interpreted the rules, A wizard cannot be given magic armour unless they have the option for normal armour.

Page 58 of the Skaven Army book says: Not alll warlock engineers can use magic, however they can be upgraded to become a level 1 or 2 wizard.

So IMO an upgraded Engineer cannot take magical armour however a normal, unmagical engineer can.

A non-upgraded warlock engineer can take any magical armour, as he is not a wizard.

An upgraded warlock cannot take magical armour aside from Warpstone Armour, which explicitly can be worn by Warlock Engineers in it's rules.

Poncho160
12-07-2011, 15:51
Missed the entry for Warpstone Armour, it does indeed say it can be worn by Warlock Engineers.