PDA

View Full Version : The War Altar of Sigmar.



Brother Alexos
10-07-2011, 05:15
This is just a quick question, but can I have a War Altar in the middle of a Flaggellants unit, like the Skaven have the Screaming Bell/ Plague Furnace? Is that changed by the fact it has a unit strenght of five?

TMATK
10-07-2011, 05:51
Unit strength is no longer part of the game. Every army book was FAQ'd to remove all mention of it.

I'm pretty sure a war altar is a chariot and can't be joined to units (p97). The Bell/Furnace have their own rules for that sort of thing.

Dante blackfur
10-07-2011, 05:51
unless either the unit of Flagellants or the war alter says they can't join units then yes you could drop the war alter in the middle of say 30 flagellants. the entire "unit Strength" mechanic has been removed in 8th, not unless something says otherwise (Like, monsters) there's nothing preventing characters from joining units. But note: that if the base size isn't compatible, like a 50X100 mm Chariot base war alter and a unit of 20 mm men bases, the character will put put on the side of the unit.

Shield of Freedom
10-07-2011, 06:06
Forget everything Dante said. Chariots cannot join units. Even if a character is riding one. The rules for the Furnace/Bell state specifically that they MUST be placed in the middle of an appropriate unit. The War Altar has no rule, and therefore must abide by the rules in the rulebook concerning it's unit type.

This is not unpresidented. characters on flying mounts can't join units either, as stated in the rules. Being a character doesn't automatically mean you join a unit... sometimes there will be something preventing you from doing so.

Yrrdead
10-07-2011, 07:52
Forget everything Dante said. Chariots cannot join units. Even if a character is riding one. The rules for the Furnace/Bell state specifically that they MUST be placed in the middle of an appropriate unit. The War Altar has no rule, and therefore must abide by the rules in the rulebook concerning it's unit type.

This is not unpresidented. characters on flying mounts can't join units either, as stated in the rules. Being a character doesn't automatically mean you join a unit... sometimes there will be something preventing you from doing so.

The bolded and underlined section is not true. You are holding that over from 7th. The only current mount limitation is Characters mounted on monsters or chariots may not join units.
(the last limitation being if a character is also a monster.)
See page 97