PDA

View Full Version : 1000 points empire

Demoulius
11-07-2011, 22:44
Hello,

First list i tried to make for Empire. Can you guys help me abit and tell me if its any good? Im a rather big noob at fantasy im afraid...

warrior priest with GW, armor of meteoric iron and dawn stone
lvl 2 battle wizard with ironcurse icon
20 greatswords with full command
21 halberdiers with full command
21 halberdiers with full command
great cannon
mortar
a detachment of 10 handgunners (or bowmen, not yet decided)

24.9% in heroes
33% in core
40.5% in special

16 points left to spend.

the handgunner i will attach to a unit (probably the greatswords or a unit of halberdiers on my flank. the wizard will join a unit of halberdiers and the WP will join the greatswords.

not yet decided on the school for the wizard, was thinking either lore of light in hopes i get some supportive spells or the lore of beasts to buff up my little halberdiers so they can actually dish out pain like they are real men :evilgrin:

Idea was basicly to sit back with the artillary (duh) and force my opponent to come to me. Handgunners would be set up so they can fire when stuff gets close and can give a charge reaction to help their parent unit when it gets fired at. the blobs of halberdiers will cover the flanks and the greatswords il try to send to the nasties thing on the board :D

Does it seem viable?

Nykster
12-07-2011, 04:25
I think you need to make more use of the detachments.

I myself have little experience playing empire, but their detachment ability is fantastic.

Keep the great swords, and the heroes as they are, but take one unit of 30 halbrediers, and use the rest to make detachments for the great swords and the halbrediers.

I would take the handgunners as a unit, not a detachment, then give them a marksman and a long rifle. This is great for taking out musicians and banner carriers and the like making large squads much weaker with one simple shot.

Demoulius
12-07-2011, 11:50