PDA

View Full Version : BSBs and Dark Elves

Izural
12-07-2011, 12:45
Hey, i'm new to Fantasy and currently play Dark Elves. Now, my question is, is taking a BSB worth it? I playtested my army list yesterday, and aside from my chariot doing nothing all game (I'm a noobie, im still learning tactics) it went well against a 2000 pt WoC army (My Corsairs killed and routed an entire unit of Chaos Knights! Promotion to Blackguard inc! :P)

Now, i'm not a defensive player, and my BSB hero spent the game in the spearmen unit, holding up a Maruder unit for 3 rounds of combat until they chased and cut them down (The spearmen were defending my Bolt Thrower and Crossbowmen). But my question is, would a hero with magic weapons be a better choice in an offensive army to maximise kills and thus, effect combat res more then having a +1 battle standard? My spearmen are pretty sturdy even though their elves (unit size of 24, 6x4 formation and have Banner of Murder), their entire purpose is to hold the shooting line.

If I drop the banner, I could have a potent combat char with Hydra blade in the unit (Combined with the Banner of Murder, thats a good amount of AP attacks for me :D) or I could even give him Lifetaker and put him in my crossbowmen for more firepower across the field.

(I know this is tactics forum, but I wasn't sure if this is more a tactical issue or an army list issue. If the latter, i'm sorry for posting in the wrong place :S)

-Izzy

Jack of Blades
12-07-2011, 13:00
There's no reason why you wouldn't want a BSB, you don't need to give him a magic banner. Just take a fighty hero if you'd like to and make him a BSB ;)

Izural
12-07-2011, 13:10
Ok cool. Was just wondering if he can have a Hand weapon and shield, or even a 2H Weapon (How would he hold the standard! XD). I'm just trying to make my characters good unit killers (I ain't dueling with them, my poor fragile guys :( ).