PDA

View Full Version : Line of site.



SatanikHeaven
15-07-2011, 06:47
Question 1.

Do wizards in combat have line of site to the unit they are in combat with? I.E to cast a Magical vortex at or through.
Also if my wizard is at the end of a unit and not touching combat does he have line of site still?

Question 2.
If a unit is charged in the flank but a few models can still draw line of site to the charging unit can they stand and shoot?

Can't seem to find anything in the rule book, everything just seems spread out all over the place.

Page numbers would be great, thank you!.

T10
15-07-2011, 07:15
1. Yes, the wizard can see anything the model can see. Being in close combat does not in itself limit what the wizard can see, but obviously the closer an enemy model is, the bigger is the "shadow" behind him.

This is covered in the rules section on Line of Sight. No need to hunt through the rules for additional bits.

2. Possibly. You resolve Stand & Shoot charge reactions immediately, i.e. before the chargers move. The charged unit resolves its shots as normal: Each model with line of sight to the chargers get to shoot if the charging unit is at least partially within the model's forward arc.

Obviously, if the whole of the charging unit starts in the target unit's flank arc then none of the models will be able shoot at it during the Stand & Shoot because none of them have the charging unit in their forward arc.

This is covered in the rules for Stand & Shoot charge reactions and the normal shooting rules.

-T10

SatanikHeaven
15-07-2011, 08:29
So i can cast magic missiles when im in combat as long as It's not at the unit im in combat with and the target unit is in my foward arc and can be seen?

Doesn't sound right at all.

narrativium
15-07-2011, 08:47
So i can cast magic missiles when im in combat as long as It's not at the unit im in combat with and the target unit is in my foward arc and can be seen?

Doesn't sound right at all.
The unit you're not in combat with is unambiguously the enemy. The unit you're in combat with at the moment is assumed to be hitting people in your unit, and there's a lot of shoving back and forth, so it's harder to miss your own guys. (And however cynical you might be about the disposable guys in a unit, your wizard is being escorted by this unit, and friendly fire can come and go around.)

Best to limit your fearsome power to when you'll only hurt the guys you mean to.

T10
15-07-2011, 10:12
So i can cast magic missiles when im in combat as long as It's not at the unit im in combat with and the target unit is in my foward arc and can be seen?

Doesn't sound right at all.

You will notice in the Magic rules that a Wizard cannot cast Magic Missile spells (at any target!) while he is in close combat (and being in a unit that is in close combat counts, even if the Wizard is not in base contact with an enemy).

-T10

eron12
15-07-2011, 19:19
You will notice in the Magic rules that a Wizard cannot cast Magic Missile spells (at any target!) while he is in close combat (and being in a unit that is in close combat counts, even if the Wizard is not in base contact with an enemy).

-T10

Unless said wizard is a slann. Stupid slann.