PDA

View Full Version : Glaive of Putrefaction vs Hell Pit Abomb

Tayrod
17-07-2011, 20:10
Hey!
Some time ago I was in a game with a friend of mine who plays skaven. Knowing the Abomb was bound to show up, I gave one of my chaos charachters the "Glaive of Putrefaction" which in essence, turns anything it wounds into a strength & toughness 2 weakling for the rest of the game (this is a good strategy for monster hunting in your basic storm of magic game, I find).

Anyway, I got my charachter into combat with a Hell pit, wounded it, and reduced it toughness and strength to 2. However, the abomb has special attacks (you roll each turn, sort of like the giant) and two of these attacks are described as str.6. in the ruleset. This brought up the following two questions:

1) Should all the Abombs special attacks also be used at Str.2 (feed and avalance of flesh)? Or is the str.2 only used for characteristic tests and the "flailing fists" attack?
2) If the Abomb dies, and comes back to life, should it still be t2 s2?

IMO:
1) Fluffwise: yes, Rulewise: No.
2) Yes.

Looking forward to your opinions/clearifications :)

Bodysnatcher
17-07-2011, 21:14
1) As it doesn't say 'At the ambomination's strength' then the rules are against you, he hits at S6.

2) For the rest of the game means for the rest of the game, pretty clear.

decker_cky
17-07-2011, 21:31
If you boost the abomination's strength when it misfires and gains +1 S, then you drop it's strength with the glaive. Depends how you're playing it.

semper_fi
17-07-2011, 22:16
1) Should all the Abombs special attacks also be used at Str.2 (feed and avalance of flesh)? Or is the str.2 only used for characteristic tests and the "flailing fists" attack?
this is an interesting one, since avalance of flesh hits with str6 -which is his base stat- but is reduced to str2 -base stat- im inclined to say he just hits with a puny str2 hit

2) If the Abomb dies, and comes back to life, should it still be t2 s2?