PDA

View Full Version : ASF and Stomp/Thunderstomp



Hashulaman
21-07-2011, 23:09
The Griffon in SoM can be given Always Strike First. How does that work with the Thunderstomp which says it has the Always Strike Last rule? According the the BRB rules, if a model has Always Strike First it cancels out Always Strike Last and the Always Strike Last attacks goes at Initiative.

Lord Inquisitor
21-07-2011, 23:10
The Griffon in SoM can be given Always Strike First. How does that work with the Thunderstomp which says it has the Always Strike Last rule? According the the BRB rules, if a model has Always Strike First it cancels out Always Strike Last and the Always Strike Last attacks goes at Initiative.

It's be nice, but sadly thunderstomp isn't affected by any special rules at all under any circumstances. So the griffon's attacks are ASF but its thunderstomp is still ASL.

T10
22-07-2011, 11:19
Stomp attacks do not benefit from any of the model's special rules, so the model's Always Strikes First special rule does not cancel the Stomp attack's Always Strikes Last special rule.

oCoYoRoAoKo
22-07-2011, 11:32
Straight out of the FAQ:

Q: Do Stomps or Thunderstomps benefit from any other special
rules, equipment or magic items? Or vice versa? (p76)
A: No to both questions.

BEEGfrog
27-07-2011, 00:38
Classic example of GW using a FAQ to make a rules amendment/errata.

In the actual rulebook stomp has the ASL rule, just the standard ASL rule, nothing about anything other rules not counting, stomp is specified as just a special extra attack with the ASL rule. If GW weren't using the FAQ to change RAW to RAI then any High Elf stomps would go at Initiative due to Helvish ASF cancelling stomp's ASL.

What GW should have done is add the "no other rules apply" as an amendment, then have the FAQ say "Oops, missed that in playtesting, see amendment saying only ASL applies to stomps". There are a few similar FAQs where GW have gone with RAI not RAW.

Tregar
27-07-2011, 00:51
Also a classic example of GW only considering half the story, with the specific use of the word "benefit". So stomps can be weakened by anything as usual (E.g. Night Goblin nets), it would seem. What about spells though, can they benefit a stomp? I played someone who cast Mindrazor on their Corpse Cart for S7 thunderstomp :D

Kalandros
27-07-2011, 04:18
Thats not the stomp getting a benefit, its the model's STR changing, so its fine.