PDA

View Full Version : Combat cancelled



T10
07-04-2006, 10:22
With swing of sword and stab of spear
The soldiers hack and pound
The enemy flee but stop too near
And are run into the ground

"Look! A unit, over there!
Engage it, men! Pursue!
Even should they do cause Fear
We shall surely run them through!"

As we quickly have surmised
The soldiers roar and forward run
The enemy, he is surprised
And cannot flee as he might have done

But before the combat can ensue
And before a blow is struck
Another threat comes into view
Says the soldier: "Oh, *******!"

It is now the enemy's turn, with thanks
And a charge he does declare
Into the soldiers open flanks
"A Panic test, my dear!"

The soldier's fail their test and flee!
Away, away with all due haste
The chargers follow, full of glee!
Too good an opportunity to waste

But what of those left behind
Those the soldiers pursued into
If you all do not mind
What can this unit do?

-T10

Latro
07-04-2006, 10:55
Cheer on their mates, make rude gestures at the enemy ... the usual.

BRB page 81

"If a unit engaged in combat panics then the normal flee and pursuit rules apply. The fleeing unit can therefore be pursued if its enemy won the preceeding combat ... "

No round won for the would-be pursuers, so no pursuit.

:cool:

neXus6
07-04-2006, 10:58
:p
Brilliant, nice one T10. :D

The unit can chase.
Cause its opponents have fled.
So they pursue to.

EDIT: See while my answer was wrong atleast I responded in the form of a Haiku. :p

peteratwar
07-04-2006, 11:14
AS Latro said, the clever man,
the unit which ran
cannot be chased, in haste,
as the unit that stands,
they have no taste
for the chase
remaining chaste

neXus6
07-04-2006, 11:18
No that doesn't work, Line 1 rhymes with 2, 3 rhymes with 5 and 7, and 4 and 6 don't rhyme with anything. :p

peteratwar
07-04-2006, 11:24
Who says I can't invent my own forms ?

Someone somewhere invented all those that are around today:p

Anyway I was happy with it and it is my birthday !!!!!:D

neXus6
07-04-2006, 11:26
:p

Good on you then. :D

ZomboCom
07-04-2006, 11:28
Only if they won
Can the other unit chase
As autumn leaves fall

There always has to be a bit about nature and leaves in a Haiku.

neXus6
07-04-2006, 11:29
Depends how traditional your trying to be. :)

T10
07-04-2006, 11:57
The unit does not pursue
That much at least is clear
However, what CAN it do
Now the enemy is not near

Can it shoot, can it move?
Must it stay an intermission?
Or what behaviour does behoove
A unit of such disposition?

-T10

neXus6
07-04-2006, 12:00
Well the unit flees in the "move chargers" phase so I think the unit that got hit would be free to do everything except declare a charge. If they can't well that just seems a bit harsh to me.

Festus
07-04-2006, 12:12
Well the unit flees in the "move chargers" phase so I think the unit that got hit would be free to do everything except declare a charge.
precisely... :)

Greetings
Festus

neXus6
07-04-2006, 12:14
Can you tell it's been a long time since I've read my rule book. I know the rules but I don't have faith in my knowledge of them. And it sometimes fails me, as my mistake earlier shows. :p

Ganymede
07-04-2006, 16:36
While the unit can not pursue because it didn't win the previous combat, it can move as normal in the remaining moves phase, and is still capable of shooting.