PDA

View Full Version : multi wound weapons vs monstrous infantry question



skitzoid
31-07-2011, 14:45
Situation:

Unit of trolls has 2 wounds on it. Cannon shoots the unit and wounds and does D3
wounds resulting in 3 wounds to the unit. It can only hit and kill 1 model.

So, does it actually do 1 wound or 3?

Finish off the 2 wound or do 3 wounds leaving the 2 wounds still on the unit?

T10
31-07-2011, 15:31
Th cannon deals 3 wounds to the unit. The unit has now suffered 5 wounds (this includes the original 2 wounds on the unit) and must remove one model worth 3 wounds. The remaining 2 wounds carry over to the unit.

This is the same as if the unit suffered the 3 wounds from three individual hits (e.g. from bows), or if the cannon caused 4, 5 or 6 wounds (the two standard cannon have the Multiple Wounds (d6) special rule; this would be capped at 3 wounds since that is the maximum number of wounds on the Troll's profile).

shakedown47
31-07-2011, 15:37
And that's why a weapon like the Hellfire Sword is so, so, so broken against troll units :)

Mr_Rose
31-07-2011, 17:03
And that's why a weapon like the Hellfire Sword is so, so, so broken against troll units :)
Huh? Why? The maximum it can deal per hit is still 3 wounds. It's just highly likely (5/6 chance) to do so.

skitzoid
01-08-2011, 16:18
Thanks for the replies all.

Seems I have been playing it worng for years now. So 2 other questions:

1. Are Chariot units (like wolf chariots and tomb kings different and if so why?
2. How would it work is only 2 wounds were dealt in stead of 3 is it now 1 wound to the unit or 1 and a carry over?

T10
01-08-2011, 16:36
Units of multi-wound models are treated the same way regardless of troop type: 5 wounds on a unit of chariots with 3 wounds each results in one chariot being removed and 2 wounds that carry over to the unit.

Mr_Rose
01-08-2011, 16:37
Thanks for the replies all.

Seems I have been playing it worng for years now. So 2 other questions:

1. Are Chariot units (like wolf chariots and tomb kings different and if so why?
2. How would it work is only 2 wounds were dealt in stead of 3 is it now 1 wound to the unit or 1 and a carry over?
1. Chariots are multi-wound models. Don't see how they would be any different; just remember that characters and their mounts have completely separate "wound-pools" to any unit they might join.

2. In a unit of 3-wound models that have already been dealt two wounds, dealing a further two wounds takes the total to four, so you remove one model (three wounds) and the unit is left with one wound marked on on it.

Aljoman
02-08-2011, 04:58
Important to note, If a weapon that deals multi wounds hits a unit that has more than one wound per model the greatest number of wounds a single hit can do is the max wounds of one model.

EG. Cannon hits a unit of ogres, as the ogres have 3 wounds each if the cannon does 6 wounds you still only get 3 wounds (one dead ogre) done to the unit from that hit. If the cannon hits 2 models and the rolls are '2' and '4' for the number of wounds done you only get 5 total (one dead and 2 extra wounds) as the '4' only inflicts 3 wounds.