PDA

View Full Version : New to WHFB - 1500pt WoC army

muggetninja
05-08-2011, 01:25
Hi guys, I'm relatively new to Warhammer, have followed the franchise for years but only recently found the means to start up collecting.
I'll be starting out small playing with some friends in some 1500pt games to get us used to the rules etc, and I was looking for some feedback on the first list I've put together.
I'll be fighting against dwarves and O&G first up.

Sorc Lord l4, MoT, Homonculus, Stream, blood of tzeentch, enchanted shield, ironcurse icon

25 Marauders, FC, MOT, LA+Shields
20 Warriors Musician, SB, MoK, Halberds, Shields, Razor Standard

5 Knights, Musician, SB, MoN, Banner of Rage

5 Chosen, FC, MoK, Halberds, book of secrets (-probably death here)

Total 1488pts

I'm not sold on giving the chosen the bos, as I'm not sure i'll get the spells through the dwarves runesmith, but i was thinking i needed something to back up the sorc lord as he is my only hero...

any tips or tricks on how I should modify this/start again etc?

GenerationTerrorist
05-08-2011, 14:35
First of all, I wouldn't bother with the Chosen in either a game of this size or a unit of that size - They are best used on conjunction with a Warshrine, and 5 of them will die far to easily. Maybe with the saved points, bump up the Warriors or Marauders.

Also, switch Conjoined Homonculus for Third Eye of Tzeentch on your Sorcerer Lord - You already have +5 to cast, so will rarely need the extra +D3 (and risk of Stupidity) as often as you might think. I would be worried about his overall protection, so a stand alone Ward Save item would help with this. Enchanted Shield is proably a waste on him.

Other than that, the units give it the look of a pretty solid list to start with.

muggetninja
08-08-2011, 01:11
Would it be worth it at these points to drop the chosen and take an exalted/bsb and put him in with the warriors?

GenerationTerrorist
08-08-2011, 01:32