PDA

View Full Version : High Elf spearman attack question

Trace07
07-08-2011, 03:07
Hello

Im just getting back into warhammer, this is my first time playing 8th ed. Can some one please answer a question for me..

I noticed in the book it says spears get +1 rank. is that plus the supporting attacks? so does this mean a normal unit with spears fights in three ranks?

And then so HE spearman now fight in four ranks since they get an extra +1?

Mage
07-08-2011, 03:47
A normal high elf unit with spears would fight in four ranks with supporting attacks going by what your posting, though I'm no high elf player. Means if you do a horde its 5 ranks attacking, four of which are supporting attacks

enyoss
07-08-2011, 06:42
You have it exactly right Trace07 :).

warplock
07-08-2011, 09:05
Which leads to the infamous example of 50 HE spearmen deployed 10 wide and 5 deep, meaning all 50 spearmen can attack (provided the 10 at the front are in base contact with an enemy).
Sickening!

Gonzoyola
07-08-2011, 09:41
50 attacks, Striking first, hitting on 3's Rerollable? Yes please.

T10
07-08-2011, 13:54
You'll probably want a bit more than 50 spearmen in order to retain the full effect of the formation for a few rounds of close combat.

Even so, Strength 3 attacks aren't exceptionally reliable when dealing with anything more than Toughness 2 and even moderate armour. Better invest the Lore of Beasts and up their Strength to 4 with Wyssan's Wildform.

Also, you may need to get used to enemies trying to get into your flanks since all you've got is this one big unit. If they get into both flanks, or one flank and the rear, then you can't reform to face them and will be stuck fighting with just a fraction of the unit's full potential.

-T10

eron12
08-08-2011, 00:19
50 attacks, Striking first, hitting on 3's Rerollable? Yes please.

Yep, so you get an absolutely insane number of hits that shrink away to next to nothing with to wound rolls and armor saves, especally against T4

warplock