PDA

View Full Version : Playing Doubles with Beasts / Ogres

Mozzamanx
08-08-2011, 22:29
Hiya,

I'm entering a local Doubles tournament in 2 months time and have paired up with a friends Ogre army. I was hoping for some advice on writing the list, since I'm still fairly new to Beasts and am limited in my access to models.

An extremely important point to make, Beastmen are given an extra 50pts for the tournament. I've no idea why, but I assume its prejudice from people with no experience getting their head kicked in by Gor. But I won't complain.

On the face of it, they seem to have some key concepts through both armies:

- Both are fast, with M 5/6
- Both rely on lots of T4, unarmoured wounds
- Reasonably low WS/I, made up by number of attacks

Especially with point 3 in mind, it would seem that the standard Herdstone / 2 Shadow Shamans would be a good place to start. They can Miasma key combats for both sides of the team and are generally just as useful for Beasts as they are for Ogres.
However, due to 250pts of hero per player, this would then mean I have no access to a BSB of my own and so it would need to be provided by my partner. This in turn means no hero-level Butchers. Are they critical to the success of an Ogre army, and am I unfairly handicapping my partner?

However! Thanks to my 50pt bonus, I can just about squeeze in a Wargor BSB and 2 L1 Shaman, for 260pts (I have 262 available for Heroes!). Of course they are all naked, but ultimately I can if Butchers are really all that.

I'm also reconsidering whether I need a Greater Bray or not. I normally run a L3 Beast, but I'm not convinced that he is as useful for Ogres. I've mainly gone for the +1S of Wyssans, so its slightly less useful for S4 Ogres. Ultimately I can get another unit for his cost, so is he worth it? Especially with a Slaughtermaster running the show.