PDA

View Full Version : Empire 2.5k Gunline

EnglishGor
23-08-2011, 14:22
Hi all i'm new to empire and yet to purchase any troops and wanted to run through this list with u lot before i go out and buy it.

Wizard Level 4 (death)
rod of power
4+ ward

General
Full Plate + Shield

Wizard Level 2 (fire)
Scroll

BSB Meteroic armour

3x 30 Halberdiers FCG (5x6)
with 2x 10 Handgunner detachments each

2 Mortars

2 Cannons

2 Volley Guns

2 Rockets

and 5 Pistoliers with Mus + Champ

muse1c
23-08-2011, 16:11
Engineers!!! I would either slim down on Halberdiers, i.e 2 units of 35? This would mean that you could get at least one Engineer. I'd also drop either a Hellstorm or Helblaster to get some Engineers. They really are worth it in my opinion, it's better to have slightly less artillery- but the knowledge that they won't be malfunctioning left, right and centre :D
The Razor Standard might also be a nice investment for one of the Halberdier blocks. -2 to armour saves can pack quite a punch.
Lore of Heavens is also a good option I've found. Chain Lightning and Comet are very good, but so is the boosted Harmonic Convergence. All units within 12" having re-rolls to hit and wound really makes Mortars etc extremely deadly.

Overall I think the list is very good though, I'd just look at investing in some Engineers to keep your artillery in check; quality over quantity perhaps? :)

Cheers

Edit: Should probably be in the 'Army Lists' section

sulla
23-08-2011, 19:42
So you've made an army that forces the enemy to come forward at full speed, but I only see one unit that can slow them on the way in.

I'd drop half the handgunner detatchments to boost the numbers in the halberdiers (30's of unarmoured humans are not scary, despite the s4) and drop one artillery piece for more pistoliers and an engineer.

EnglishGor
23-08-2011, 21:45
I had thought about doppin 3 units of detachments for some free company detachemnts to march them forward to get in the way to give me an