PDA

View Full Version : Wheeling and Charging.

Tyra_Nid
10-04-2006, 14:23
Im fairly new to this edition of Fantasy.

At my gaming club, we have been playing that you can only take your wheel at the start of a charge. However, in the rulebook it does not specifiy that this wheel must be at the start of the charge, only stating that you may wheel once during the charge.

Although, in the following example it does describing a unit wheeling at the start then charging.

Do you HAVE to wheel at the start? Can you move forward slightly, then wheel, then complete the rest of the charge?

Clarification, please.

Satan
10-04-2006, 14:32
Apart from the free align (Where you line up your models so that they fit together in a close combat in the case of a bit of odd charge-angle) it states clearly in the rulebook that you may wheel freely during the charge but only ONCE. Whether at the start, middle or somewhere towards the end, is irrelevant. Please note that you only need to wheel in order to make contact with the enemy unit. Once you've done so, the free aligning to bring the units into proper alignment is free and does not count as a wheel.

Sorry about the relatively poor state of my english ATM. I blame work.

mageith
10-04-2006, 14:47
Please note that you only need to wheel in order to make contact with the enemy unit.
Sorry about the relatively poor state of my english ATM. I blame work.
:) How do you know when I need to wheel?

Not sure if what you are saying is an English problem or not.

While I agree that literally units may only wheel to increase their model contact with the enemy, practically it really doesn't work, especially with single models.

So, as far as I can tell, from discussions on the forums, most players allow one wheel at any time during the charge for any reason as long as the final result is that the maximum number of models of the charging unit end up in base contact.