PDA

View Full Version : fulcrums



Khorneflakes
28-08-2011, 09:24
can anyone who can cast spells occupy them?

treeman ancient?

warrior priest?

non wizard character with a bound item (not counting WP) like the ruby ring?

Lord Zarkov
28-08-2011, 10:14
Only Wizards can occupy them.

Models with bound spells who are not Wizards cannot

Scalebug
28-08-2011, 10:18
No, must be a Wizard or Runesmith.

Having a bound spell does not make you a Wizard (BRB p.37).

Mr_Rose
28-08-2011, 11:49
can anyone who can cast spells occupy them?
Yes.

treeman ancient?
No.

warrior priest?
No.

non wizard character with a bound item (not counting WP) like the ruby ring?
Since both of the specific examples above are "non-wizard characters with a bound spell" for consistency's sake I better say no here, too.:p

Really though, simply having a bound spell does not make you a wizard, regardless of whether it's innate or from an item, per BRB page 37.

Now for why I said yes to your first question; anyone who can actually cast spells (not trigger innate or item- bound spells) is a Wizard for all purposes that require a Wizard, regardless of what their army book calls them (sorcerers, shamans, whatever) and that includes satisfying the condition that only wizards or runesmiths can occupy fulcrums.

Khorneflakes
29-08-2011, 07:29
thanks guys, damn was hoping to get fighter heroes with a bound item to hold fulcrums and beat off enemies and let the wizards do the casting from the safety of the ground

unheilig
29-08-2011, 08:02
thanks guys, damn was hoping to get fighter heroes with a bound item to hold fulcrums and beat off enemies and let the wizards do the casting from the safety of the ground

an item that actually gave you wizard levels would do it.

Khorneflakes
30-08-2011, 05:19
like the 100 point wizard hat?

Akkristor
30-08-2011, 06:12
There's at least one monster in the Scrolls of Binding that has Wizard levels, not counting the Elder dragons or the Exalted Daemons.

Mr_Rose
30-08-2011, 08:26
like the 100 point wizard hat?
Like the 25 point book of secrets.

wbravenboer
30-08-2011, 10:19
Deamon Prince can occupy a fulcrum, for some juicy killyness... or a Vampire Lord.
A mounted wizard can also occupy a fulcrum though?

Scalebug
30-08-2011, 15:37
A mounted wizard can also occupy a fulcrum though?

Yes, on a WYSIWYG basis that you have to be able to place the model on the fulcrum. So for a lot of mounts that is 1 or 2 of the GW released Fulcrums able for you to hold.

(Also there is that risk of Miscasting, turning into a monster yourself, in the process eating your mount, no matter if it is a horse or a Dragon...)