PDA

View Full Version : How does one beat a Grave Guard death star?

Welshdragon04
30-08-2011, 10:19
So I'm pretty new to Empire. Being a very experienced WoC and Lizzy player it's a change of pace. Though me and this VC player are both in a campaign and he's winning, so obviously my first target. Three games past and not a single victory. Points range from 1000-1600 though it's now sticking firmly at 1200 for the remainder.

My question is as the title of the thread suggests, how does one beat a grave guard deathstar? I'm talking wight king, vampire w/drakenhof banner (whose also T5 and W3 due to campaign buffs) and a shed load (30+) of GG. The rest consists of an equally large unit of skellies and then either black coach, terrorbat or something equally scary.

Ignoring is isn't an option, as it's too manny points. Killing it has been very difficult. On top of Nehek and regen and killy characters, I've thrown everythign at it. My halfling hotpot has done the most, claiming 10 in a singl shot, crossbows are negligable, and anything it touches in combat it minces (knights of the white wolf, greatswords with a warrior priest, halberdiers) In fact last night I cast Bironas Timewarp(+1A and ASF) on the swords with hatred from the priest and still only caused 4 wounds and the knights with flaming banner did naff all. None of my characters will ever be able to do anything to it. I don't have a bright wizard though that seems my only option...help?

EDIT: Said Vampire is also frenzied due to a failed assassination attempt by our tomb kings player...

Loopstah
30-08-2011, 10:27
Pit of Shades, Purple Sun, Lore of Fire, Flaming banner on something with more attacks than the Knights.

Edit: Drop a cannonball on the BSB.

danny-d-b
30-08-2011, 10:27
Hit them with some flaming crossbows or something like that, then motar/helstom rocket battry them and laugh as they can't regen

or just death snipe the genral

Deathbysoup
30-08-2011, 10:33