PDA

View Full Version : Contact from a charge.



Eldaneshkin
31-08-2011, 16:15
Now everyone knows sliding is no longer an option. When a charge is made it says wheel is optional. Does a unit have to wheel to maximize models in combat or can it just move forward, make contact and close the door? The usual TO for my store says the rule is one has to wheel so that the wheel action will bring as many into contact as possible. RAW says a wheel can be made. In the explainatory section it says if a wheel is performed than it must be done so max models make contact. What is the truth of the rule? Thanks.

T10
31-08-2011, 16:47
You must wheel to maximise.

ihavetoomuchminis
31-08-2011, 20:39
You must wheel to maximise.

+1 to that. Trying to engage the maximum number of models is mandatory.

Mr_Rose
31-08-2011, 20:48
Note that while you have to get as many from both sides in as possible, that doesn't mean you have to align perfectly if you can achieve maximum contact without doing so. That is, with an equal frontage of models on equally sized bases, you can 'step-offset' your unit by as much as one base-width so that the last models on the lines are only in corner-corner contact if desired.

I leave the tactical applications of this as an exercise for the reader.

Eldaneshkin
03-09-2011, 20:25
Thanks for answers but since it states in rules that you"may" wheel during the charge, is it not RAI to say you have to wheel to maximize? The description area of charging says that if a unit wheels then it must maximize, not you have to wheel to maximize. Just wanted to clarify between RAW and RAI. Thanks

The bearded one
03-09-2011, 20:28
You must maximise the number of models in contact, you may use a wheel to do so.

Yrrdead
03-09-2011, 20:33
Thanks for answers but since it states in rules that you"may" wheel during the charge, is it not RAI to say you have to wheel to maximize? The description area of charging says that if a unit wheels then it must maximize, not you have to wheel to maximize. Just wanted to clarify between RAW and RAI. Thanks

Well reading all of the rules and not just selectively picking passages helps.
The very first paragraph in bold is pretty important.

MOVE CHARGERS
[...]As many models as possible from the two units must be brought into base contact.

And the 2nd paragraph

[...]That said, the charge move is subject to an important restriction: the unit must move straight ahead, except that, during this move , it may make a single wheel of up to 90 degrees. You are free to make this wheel in order to place your unit wherever you like against the facing of the enemy unit that is being charged, but remember that you must bring as many models into base contact with the enemy as possible, from both sides! Therefore this wheel cannot be used to reduce the number of models in base contact, unless of course you have no choice, and you need to wheel for the unit to avoid intervening units and impassable terrain in order to complete the charge.

XNCJason
16-09-2011, 19:34
I hate to resurrect a dead topic. Im new. Ive been trolling around for a few months but have never posted. If this is the wrong place to ask this just yell at me and ill leave.

This is an area of argument quite frequently in our newly formed gaming group.

The text in the rulebook reads that charges must be made in a straight line...but you can wheel once up to 90 degrees? And this wheel can happen anytime during the move? Essentially that means you can start out moving straight ahead...pull a 90 degree turn then finish the charge going a completely different direction than where you faced from the beginning. So why then mention the move has to be in a straight line?

---------> Chargee
|
| Obstacle
|
|
Charger

Is the above valid? Thats kinda not a straight line...

Zaustus
17-09-2011, 17:18
The moves themselves must be straight lines. You do get that one wheel of up to 90, which is the only way to change direction during a charge (plus the free alignment once you make contact).

However, you must also contact the same facing of the unit that you started in. In your example, the charger appears to begin in the chargee's front arc. That being the case, the charger must contact the enemy in their front.

Here's an example. In charge A, the charger is unable to make contact with the enemy's front. Thus, charge A is an illegal charge. In charge B, the charger is able to make contact with the enemy's front. Charge B is a legal charge.

118300

narrativium
17-09-2011, 17:33
The charge move is flexible - either one straight-forward move, or two straight-forward moves with a single wheel, followed by a door-closing. The move has to maximise models getting into combat between the two units, and be viable in terms of reaching the enemt (e.g. going around other units or impassible terrain).

Other than that, there's the flexibility to go through as little dangerous terrain as possible, or position your unit for a favourable overrun/pursuit/flight. There's your room for tactical play.