PDA

View Full Version : skirmishers stand rule



High Matthew
02-09-2011, 18:13
A unit of orcs declares a charge on a unit of harpies which are in their line of sight
The harpies reform for the stand.

If by reforming the harpies are no longer in the orcs'sline of sight. Is still a legal charge or a failed one?!

Thanks

Yrrdead
02-09-2011, 18:24
LOS and front arc are requirements to Declare a charge.(pg18)

Skirmishers ,when charged, tighten their loose formation when making a charge reaction.(pg 77)

Edit- Realized I didn't really answer your question clearly. It is a legal charge declaration. Whether it fails or is successful has to do with other factors.

High Matthew
02-09-2011, 18:30
It is a legal charge but can the orcs make contact with the harpies since they are no longer in the orc's line of sight?

Ravenar
02-09-2011, 18:34
Basically it is a legal charge, but will the die roll stand up to their new formation is one question to be answered... another is if the terrain is open enough to make contact.

If you can still roll high enough and can properly move to the harpies, have at them.

Yrrdead
02-09-2011, 18:36
If you are asking is it possible to complete the charge successfully the answer is yes it is possible. Provided that you meet the conditions for calculating charge range (pg19) and moving chargers(pg20).

Which basically means that you rolled high enough and you don't wheel more than 90degrees.

High Matthew
03-09-2011, 07:55
If you are asking is it possible to complete the charge successfully the answer is yes it is possible. Provided that you meet the conditions for calculating charge range (pg19) and moving chargers(pg20).

Which basically means that you rolled high enough and you don't wheel more than 90degrees.

Thanks that is much more clear now

Harwammer
03-09-2011, 08:33
As long as the declaration was legal and the charging unit can still reach the harpies with the distance rolled and only 1 wheel then all is gravy.

magicmonkey
03-09-2011, 14:56
what happens id the orcs can see harpies and declare charge. oppenent reforms, then you pivot to face him and move 2d6+move towards him i think.

The bearded one
03-09-2011, 16:53
- The orcs see the harpies and declare a charge.
- The harpies declare a hold reaction and tighten their formation. In the process they are outside the orcs' arc of sight.
- However LoS is only a requirement when declaring a charge and not anymore after that. As long as the orcs roll a high enough charge distance, they may try and complete the charge, using the normal rules.
- With the 90 degree move they are allowed, they should be able to bring the harpies back into their line of sight and move forward to complete the charge.

T10
04-09-2011, 14:13
what happens id the orcs can see harpies and declare charge. oppenent reforms, then you pivot to face him and move 2d6+move towards him i think.

I assume this is how you play the game, so it's worth clarifying a few points you seem to have misunderstood.

The target skirmisher unit does not "reform", it just tightens up its formation. A An actual reform manoeuvre allows you to do a lot of stuff, like changing the direction the unit is facing and changing the number of ranks and files in the unit.

When moving a unit of chargers, these do not simply pivot and move. You first measure the distance between the two units (i.e. the distance between the corners closest to each other), then roll for the charge range. If this meets-or-beats the distance measured then the charge will likely be a success.

When moving, the chargers enjoy the following benefits:

* They ignore the 1" away rule and can skim past enemy and friendly units and impassable terrain. They still need a clear path: They can't move through units or impassable terrain, though flyers should have few problems.
* They can move any distance.

They are subject to the following limitations:

* They get a single wheel manoeuvre of up to 90 degrees.
* They must move to contact the appropriate side of the target unit (front, flank or rear).
* They must move to bring as many models as possible into contact on both sides. Of course, if the best you can achieve is one model vs. one model, then that is at least more than no models. :)

-T10