PDA

View Full Version : Unbreakable character in units without unbreakable



stashman
03-09-2011, 09:50
How does it work when a unbreakable character (Skrag) joins a unit that is not unbreakable (Ogres).

In the rulebook I read: A unit composed entirely of unbreakable models is immune to psychology and pases break test automatically, no matter the odds.

So if not all models are unbreakable, do the unit take break tests as normal? And panic tests and fear tests?

Thanks for the help.

Lord Zarkov
03-09-2011, 10:26
His special rules don't transfer to the unit, so they take all psychology and break tests as usual, and if they flee for any reason he is forced to flee along with the unit, despite being unbreakable himself.

If the unit fail a fear test then they will suffer the effects, but the character will not.

stashman
03-09-2011, 13:07
Thanks alot

The bearded one
03-09-2011, 13:14
Just for additional reference:

Page 100:
"Special rules"
Unless otherwise noted in the text of the rule itself, a special rule applying only to a character does not apply to the unit, and vice versa.

Page 78:
"Unbreakable"
A unit composed entirely of unbreakable models is immune to psychology and passes break test automatically, no matter the odds!

So 1 unbreakable character does not make the unit unbreakable, and you need a unit entirely composed of unbreakable models for them to pass break tests normally. Ergo, they run away as usual.

Lord Inquisitor
07-09-2011, 15:52
Let's hope for a FAQ or errata on this one then. It makes Skragg's ultimate ability virtually worthless.

warplock
07-09-2011, 15:56
So if you have one non-unbreakable character in an unbreakable unit, the unit can flee since it's not made entirely of unbreakable troops?

Lord Inquisitor
07-09-2011, 16:02
Yes. It's difficult to find a circumstance where this applies though as non-unbreakable characters can't join unbreakable units.

warplock
07-09-2011, 16:18
Screaming Bell makes Clanrats unbreakable, does this mean that if you put a BSB in the unit he won't be affected and so the unit won't actually be unbreakable? I don't have the Skaven book with me so in all likelihood there is some wording or stipulation that overrides this.

Lord Inquisitor
07-09-2011, 16:21
Yeah there's a FAQ that gives the Bell an exception, somewhere in that mass of Skaven erratas and amendments and FAQs...

CaliforniaGamer
07-09-2011, 17:12
Huh. So if a character has the stubborn crown, he tests on unmodified LD but the unit does not? And vice versa. that doesnt sound right at all...

Lord Inquisitor
07-09-2011, 17:16
Huh. So if a character has the stubborn crown, he tests on unmodified LD but the unit does not? And vice versa. that doesnt sound right at all...

Stubborn isn't Unbreakable. The Stubborn rule is very clear about characters joining units.

My guess is that Skragg is intended to make any unit he joins Unbreakable too but then again perhaps not.

Ravenar
07-09-2011, 17:21
not toosure where you are going with the stubborn comment... post is about unbreakable.

T10
08-09-2011, 08:38
[COLOR="Magenta"Yeah there's a FAQ that gives the Bell an exception, somewhere in that mass of Skaven erratas and amendments and FAQs... [/COLOR]

It stands to reason that the Skaven Errata should match the size of the army...

SilasOfTheLambs
08-09-2011, 20:19
It stands to reason that the Skaven Errata should match the size of the army...

You just said "skaven" and "stands to reason" in the same post. Apparently you've never played them? :angel:

T10
10-09-2011, 15:31
You just said "skaven" and "stands to reason" in the same post. Apparently you've never played them? :angel:

Right back at you.