PDA

View Full Version : Refusing a challenge with a magic banner bsb?



snottlebocket
04-09-2011, 12:51
Reading the refusing a challenge rule, am I right in thinking a unit is still allowed to use the bsb bonus and his magic banner even if the bsb himself refused?

As far as I can tell the only consequences are the bsb not being allowed to fight and the unit not being allowed to use his leadership.

Ravenar
04-09-2011, 12:53
That is correct... big change.

snottlebocket
04-09-2011, 16:22
That makes it a lot safer to actually stick some of those hideously expensive banners on a near unprotected bsb.

decker_cky
04-09-2011, 16:31
Only against opponents forced to challenge for the most part.

Oberon
04-09-2011, 16:35
At least for the one turn the opponent is foolish enough to issue a challenge. Of course, against WoC you can abuse this every turn...

Imperial Stormtrooper
04-09-2011, 17:51
Yes, you can still use the effects of the BSB and his magic standard if he refuses a challenge.

But in the rulebook, the CHALLENGER chooses who is sent to the back if the challenge is refused. If you have a unit champion and a BSB in a unit, the challenger could just send the unit champ to the back, then flail on the BSB.

Oberon
04-09-2011, 17:54
Actually no, the champion cannot be sent back. Champions can accept and issue a challenge, but there's no shame in refusing for them.

Imperial Stormtrooper
04-09-2011, 18:00
Actually no, the champion cannot be sent back. Champions can accept and issue a challenge, but there's no shame in refusing for them.

Quite true, my bad. I went back and re-read the exact wording in the rulebook. But I suppose the point still stands if you have both the BSB and another character in the unit :P

SilasOfTheLambs
06-09-2011, 01:59
I believe the challenger can just choose to keep everyone in the front, as well.

Lord Inquisitor
06-09-2011, 02:07
I believe the challenger can just choose to keep everyone in the front, as well.

No, "one of them must retire in ignominy".

Lord Zarkov
06-09-2011, 09:01
The only exception being if there are no characters in the declining unit, only a champion, in which case no-one goes to the back